Starting fresh – Photo’s of an abandoned criminally insane asylum.

It’s been a while since I blogged here.

I’ve decided to revamp this blog as in recent times I have become completely absorbed in all things creative, especially photography, so I suspect that this will evolve into a much more photography based blog.

I’ve changed the name from Ramblings by Desertrose to Twisted Gypsy as I feel much more twisted gypsy like these days, and it IS the name of two of mine and my daughters (Shai) facebook pages.  – Twisted Gypsy designs and TwistedGypsy Creative Photography, which I do want to promote.

Of course, no doubt I will still ramble a little though.

Our 16 year old son took myself and my husband out for a little drive recently.  He’s been learning to drive and has been hassling my husband to let him have a go with the 4 wheel drive, which of course has terrified my other half but reluctantly ( and with some prompting by me) he allowed my son to take us on a little trip to the site of an old abandoned criminally insane psychiatric unit.

I’ve known this place was there for years but was unable to locate it, till now.  Of course, I was willing to undergo some nerve wracking dirt road driving by a learner in order to get the goods…..Nice juicy CREEPY photos!

He did surprisingly well though…. And it quickly became evident that it wasn’t the first time he’s been behind the wheel out there on those roads. Hmm.

This old insane asylum, or what’s left of it, because it has been vandalised a fair bit and well, trashed really by the dirt bike riders and whoever else frequents the place –  I’m sure there is much unsavoury activity that takes place there as it IS right in the middle of nowhere in the bush.

It used to be known as ward 21 and as far as I know, because there isn’t much information out there about it, it used to house some of the most deranged murderers and hardened criminals in Australia.

It closed in the early nineties and the patients were sent to Long bay Jail.

I expected the same dark, oppressive vibe that the still operating part of the hospital has, which is set few kilometres away, but to my surprise it didn’t have that feeling to it. Sure, it was creepy, as creepy as any abandoned falling into ruins site is, but I found it strangely empty of any “bad energy”, and I’m usually pretty sensitive to weird feelings that places give off.

Maybe I was just too preoccupied taking photo’s and trying to not fall into any holes.

Here are some images from the days shoot….and lastly a composite image I created titled “Banshee”, featuring Shai as the model.

Outside buildings sm PNGWall entry sm PNG 2Wet room sm PNGPool 2 sm PNGBathroom sm PNGBanshee sm

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Australia, Creativity, photography, Photoshoot and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting fresh – Photo’s of an abandoned criminally insane asylum.

  1. Good to have you back …
    really impressed by the last shot …
    Love, hugs and keep on twisting … ME

  2. ksbeth says:

    good to see you again, tracy and those images are spectacular –

Leave a Reply

