Do you look like your dog?

I feel for the owners of the above dog. Should you wear it or iron it? Is there even a dog IN there?

We have two Sharpei’s.
If you are not familiar with the breed they are those really weird wrinkly dogs that look like they don’t quite fit into their skin. (the one at the top of the post is like extreme Sharpei-ism.)

They are sometimes known as the Chinese Sharpei or Roly dog.
There are two kinds, the traditional Sharpei which is taller, leaner, less wrinkly kind, and the more American bred kind which is stockier, more meaty mouthed and generally more wrinkled.

We have both.

I originally wanted a Labrador. Beautifully  sweet natured, devoted, loyal,gentle, intelligent and easy to train.  These dogs live to please their owners. It’s so adorable.
A friend of mine trained her Labrador to carry shopping bags and to fetch the newspaper from the front yard.
He got SO excited at the attention he got from retrieving the newspaper , that he began enthusiastically fetching every single paper from the front lawns of the entire neighbourhood.

My husband wanted a Sharpei. Stubborn,willful, aloof, stubborn, stubborn and stubborn and impossible to train. (Sounds a bit like my husband.)

Really, Sharpei’s are like cats in a dogs body.
They are completely “their own boss”, dislike being told what to do and HATE water with a passion.

This is a picture of our male Sharpei being given the “Come here!” command. It is a familiar sight,that bum.

This is a picture of him being told to “Stay!” so I could take a picture.

This is when I tell him to “Sit!” He’s looking at me like – “What’s in it for me? Oy, show me the food first!”

If you throw a ball for a Sharpei (ours anyway.) they will either look at it rolling away with an expression of “You want me to do WHAT? Get up and go and fetch that for YOU?” Or else, if in an unusually energetic mood, will get it, run in the opposite direction and then spend the next five minutes gumming on it until they get bored. They have the attention span of a gnat.

I am highly embarrassed to admit that our male Sharpei is named “Turtle”.

No, we didn’t allow the children to pick the name. The breeder, for whatever reason decided to give him that (ridiculous) temporary name and we SHOULD have changed it, immediately, when we bought him but for some (insane) reason we didn’t.

It always confuses young children when they hear us calling him “Turtle”.

“That’s not a turtle! That’s a dog!” they say as they look at you like you’re incredibly  dumb.

It’s too hard to explain to them, but they’re correct.
It’s just NOT what you should call a dog. Ever.

It’s especially not what you should call a dog when he escapes from the yard and goes running off down the busy street with you frantically running behind trying to catch him.
People think you are one slice of meat short of a sandwich, as you asthmatically wheeze with the effort of sprinting,  yelling “Turtle!  Come here! Oh God….Turtle….stop!”

They look confused.

“Where is the turtle?” and “Bloody hell, that must be one fast turtle that got away!”

Ridiculous.

Our female dog has a much more acceptable name – “Taya”.  She’s the one who suddenly, overnight went blind.
It’s sad. She’s only 6.
My husband wants to rename her “pinball”. Or “dodgem”.
He’s so slack.
She’s ok though, adjusting well, despite banging into things.
Luckily Sharpei’s don’t feel pain. Not like those little fluffy things that yelp if you so much as sneeze on them.

Taya is the more protective of the two. (Very dominant) so she still stands at the gate between ours and the neighbours yard and “Faces off” with the dogs next door.
She doesn’t know where the heck they ARE exactly, but she still tries to look all tough and stare them down.

She also knows exactly where Turtles face is, after dinner, so she can spend at least ten minutes licking off every morsel that he sloppily leaves on his extra meaty mouth. I think his tongue can’t reach due to the extra fat lips.( He’s like the ad for botox gone horribly wrong.)
It’s just their ritual, just as is the after dinner “ok, lets check each others bowls now to make sure there’s nothing, not even a microscopic bit of food left that’s been missed.”
There never is, because they are like vaccum cleaners when they eat, but still, each others bowls MUST be thoroughly checked every single night.

I’d like to show you a funny video of Taya, when she was younger, and could still see.
She did this strange thing, probably a dominating thing, where she would sit on your head if you were laying down somewhere. In fact she would (and still does) sit on any part of you that she can…especially your feet. It’s like her bum is too good to touch the ground.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/675665″>So happy together.</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user366567″>Tracy Lundgren</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

And this is turtle, in a tu tu…..getting some exercise.
He’s a fat lazy slob. An absolute couch potato, but will do ANYTHING for a piece of cheese.

The Sharpei weight loss program from Tracy Lundgren on Vimeo.

You know how they say owners end up looking like their dogs?
Well I’m worried.

I’d like to know…if you have a dog, do you look anything like it?
The longer you own it…are there any changes taking place to the way you appear?

Some reassurance would be nice.

Damn it. I’d much rather look like a Labrador.

Sometimes there are some sweet moments though with Sharpei’s.
Yesterday I gave Turtle a bath.
He’s moulting horrifically – I mean hair like snow everywhere.
It was a nightmare, the whole bath ordeal, but afterwards, when I was sitting on the floor in front of him trying to get all the damp hair off him, he snuggled right into my shoulder, like a real dog hug.
It said “I forgive you for just putting me through that terrible ordeal.”
And then he checked my face for any food scraps.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Body image, Dogs, husbands, Marriage, Pets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Do you look like your dog?

  1. Adam S says:

    I didn’t even see the dog in the picture until I started reading…Then I thought to myself, “what the hell did she post a picture of towels for if this post is about her dog?” I’m slow today… Love the song in the video — great cover! Is it coincidence or by design that you’re dog’s name is Turtle, and “Happy Together” was performed by “The Turtles”?

  2. desertrose7 says:

    My husband didn’t see the dog either and thought the same thing. lol!
    I never even thought about the fact that it was the Turtles who originally did that song….but, in the video it’s Taya, not Turtle 🙂 Such an embarrassing name, really! BUT, he does have one heck of a turtle neck …sweater thingy. More chins than his food bowl can deal with.

  3. Dan says:

    Every time I watch that “So Happy Together” video it puts a big smile on my face.
    As a dog owner, I too laughed when Taya had no intention of retrieving the ball.

    😆 i only wish that I was as good looking as my Lab.

    But I have to admit, that the other morning as we were walking in the park and Trooper had his nose to the ground sniffing anything and everything in between every tree, that he looked a little like your Sharpeis.

    Trooper doesn’t look for food scraps on my face but he does use the backs of my legs for a towel when he is finished drinking from his water bowl. 😉

    Cute story. 🙂

    • desertrose7 says:

      Yeah, I know the towel thing. When Turtle has a drink, if he shakes his head….you get a shower too. Nothing like dogs though. Life wouldn’t be the same without them.

  4. Pingback: Fazed? | Stacia Priscilla ♥

Leave a Reply

