How my “vagina” caused a furore on the internet.

abstract-flame-sm

As an emerging artist, dabbling around in all forms of media and styles. I particularly like abstract art.   I like it because it’s a bit like cloud watching….the viewer can interpret it in any way it wishes to.

So I painted this piece of abstract art and when my daughter saw it she said “Mum, why are you painting vaginas?”   Well, she actually just looked straight at it and said “Vagina!” but I could tell what she was thinking – “Mums lost the plot, entirely!”

I was quite shocked, and a bit upset to be honest, because that was entirely NOT what I was intending to paint, but the more I looked at it, the more I could see what she was seeing.

Thinking it might be a case of “suggestion” I put it out there to get some other opinions.

Well…what a pandoras box I have opened!   The overwhelming response – as soon as someone mentioned the word  vagina…( technically vulva, but who’s quibbling in the face of this embarrassing disaster)  was an outpouring of V related quips and jokes and sometimes quite touching little expressions of their beauty and the splendour of all things feminine.

There have been compliments, criticisms, insults, – one cute little private message – from a woman, that simply said “It’s rude!” ….in fighting amongst groups of people with differing opinions, Freud like analytical musings, a multitude of friend requests on Facebook and requests to see more of my art – even when I have assured them that I have no other vaginery type art works to show.

To be honest almost everyone missed the “feeling” I was going for, which was the contrast between our inner passion ( not sexual passion) –  inspirational/creative passion, and the sea of insecurity in which it often is dragged around in, and sometimes drowned by.

Even when I have EXPLAINED that, people just continue to see a vagina. Smurf vagina…Avatar vagina… Mother Earth vagina…Mermaid vagina (though there is some speculation as to whether they actually HAVE them!) and Volcano vagina (Vulvano) …

I’ve even had someone try to argue with me that it’s NOT “abstract art” at all and that I KNEW exactly what I was painting.    Um…never seen them in the blue and orange variety?

Nope…not at all what people “got”. Which makes me a bit sad because it feels like I haven’t really expressed the emotion of it well enough, but then again, most abstract art is completely vague and open to interpretation.

I understand completely – now more so than ever, how preprogrammed we are to seek out recognisable images – ( much like seeing faces in tree trunks) and categorise them in little boxes so as to make sense of our world. I get that. It’s logical and a survival instinct really because if we didn’t we’d be wandering around all day feeling very frightened or unsure of everything vague we saw in the shadows. It has been a very interesting experience but I’m quite surprised that SO many people have genitals on the brain.

I shouldn’t be upset or annoyed. The artists job is to simply create the art and the audience will react based upon their own emotional experience.

I have decided to call this painting “Perception”.  Either that or just plain old “Fanny”.

It IS for sale….so if you want a conversation piece for your wall…..?

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Art, embarrassing, Humour, I can't paint, Life, life experiences, Social media, Social networks, society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How my “vagina” caused a furore on the internet.

  1. ksbeth says:

    I just saw it as a beautiful piece of art and enjoyed the contrast

  2. utesmile says:

    It is not you who is rude but them for seeing this in the picture. I find it a nice flowing picture with vibrant colours. I feel like you what is on peoples mind……? I wouldn’t have looked at it as vagina to start with. People see want they want to see.

  3. Ralph says:

    lol. Well, I think it looks like a dead leaf in a stream. But I could be wrong and your daughter right ! 🙂
    It’s nice to see you back blogging again Tracy ❤

    • Thanks Ralph! I have received SO many different answers and it’s fascinating to hear what other people think. I’ve been a bit slack on the blogging side of things. Hope you are well Ralph.

Leave a Reply

