From Australia to Austria – the journey begins.

frogs-travel

When do your holidays actually begin?  Well, I say probably months in advance as you begin researching and anticipating, which is exactly what I have been doing!

The excitement of anticipation is part of, and almost as enjoyable AS the whole holiday experience but today – in this wild blustery weather (one entire state here had all its power knocked out by wild storms!) we physically begin our epic journey from Australia to Austria.

Tonight we stay at Sydney Airport so that we can be there bright and early Friday morning ( And I hope by then all these storms have passed out of our way!) so we can take our first flight to Singapore.

My husband – (who travels for work) wants me to go to a particular Persian restaurant in Singapore – that’s the only reason we are going there.   I suspect it is also to get more frequent flyer points.  😀

The next day we fly to the Philippines and spend a day and a night there and this is where our real journey starts and hey hey hey….my travel savvy husband got this amazing deal and we’re flying business class!  Whoo!  (I am SO spoiled!)

We do the loooong flight to Rome – in comfort 😀 and have a very rushed day seeing the sights there…stay overnight before flying to Germany.

My husband wants to see a concentration camp in Germany –Dachau. I’m not altogether looking forward to this as I know it is going to be extremely difficult for me.  Just reading about what went on there affects me greatly, but this is just something he wants to do.

From Germany we hire a car and drive to Austria.

We picked Austria because it seems a little less expensive than Switzerland – (which is really where I wanted to go), but will still have similar beautiful countryside to explore which will make my camera happy.

We have about ten days to enjoy the sights of the cities of Salzburg and Vienna – and I’m not generally a city loving person but these two places seem quite interesting… as well as peruse the beautiful scenic “Sound of Music” countryside before we fly to Turkey- which I am a little nervous about to be honest.

We have a day and night there in Istanbul before we fly to Abu dhabi – (which is a word my lips struggle with for some reason)

We’ll have three days in the stinking heat there ( You know how much I loooove heat – not!) where we will go and explore a desert as well as the city before we finally fly back home again!

Whew! I’m exhausted just thinking about all this but REALLY looking forward to it as well especially from a photography perspective.  My husband, as usual, is looking forward to the food.

I’m going to try and keep a regular blog going as we travel to document our trip so as to share some of our experiences and the sights we see in these countries for any other travellers who might be interested on our perspective.

I have read over and over again that the customer service in Austria is terrible, that staff, and indeed some travellers have said, that Austrians in general are quite rude. I’d like to think we’re going to prove them wrong, and I sincerely hope we do!

I would LOVE to stay in some kind of rustic alpine hut while in Austria but most it seems, involve long mountainous  hikes to get to them.  We’ll see what we can find.  I definitely do want to get out and do some long walks though….to walk off all the lovely cakes and pastries that I’ve read which are infamous in Austria.

Yum!!!

pastries

Images in this blog post courtesy of Pixabay.

 

 

 

 

 

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Australia, culture, fear of flying, husbands, life experiences, photography, Travel, travel blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From Australia to Austria – the journey begins.

  1. utesmile says:

    That sounds so exciting. You are one lucky lady to travel around so much! Enjoy. You’ll love Austria and it is not hot!

Leave a Reply

