Blood, sweat and bohemian tears.

I have been like a mad woman possessed these past few weeks.

I don’t know what has come over me but for some reason I feel compelled to paint, which is something, in the past, that has never really struck my fancy because painting is HARD and messy, and time consuming and quite frankly I suck at it.

Never again will I go to an art gallery and look at a piece of abstract art and think -“Oh that is so simple even I could paint something like that.”

I’ll tell you this now…it is NOT as easy as it looks. Really it is not.

For the past three days I have been working on creating an abstract painting on a vertical canvas.

I have started from scratch SEVEN times on this damn thing.  It’s been shades of red, shades of blue, shades of turquoise,  blue and orange…and…oh, I forget what else, but it’s been EVERYTHING  and I hated them all.  In fact I began to think very violent thoughts towards this canvas.  I ALMOST got a knife and slashed it to pieces at one point.

I tried ALL kinds of techniques, watched many youtube tutorials.  Scrunched plastic in paint on it.  Sanded it back…used my hands to smoosh paint. Spattered paint, used washes of paint, added texture…added MORE texture.

It was driving me absolutely insane!

Why could I not DO this! It’s abstract. Doesn’t actually have to LOOK like anything, right?  Just needs to express a FEELING…or something.

I felt trapped in an eternal painting hell. Honestly I did.

I painted from the time I got up, until the time I went to bed…..no kidding!

Today, finally the torture has ended.

I am NOT going to change a thing.

I REFUSE to be tempted to add ” just one little bit”….because I know where THAT ends up!

Finally it is done.

My very out there,  “Blood sweat and bohemian tears.”  That’s what I should call it.

And I tell you what, if anyone ever is crazy enough to ask how much it is, I will charge for mental anguish.

 

Bohemian painting retouched 2 small

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Art, artists, Arty farty, Australia, I can't paint, life experiences, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blood, sweat and bohemian tears.

  1. Ralph says:

    Lovely. Excellent work Tracy. But it’s upside down ! lol 🙂 ❤

  2. utesmile says:

    It looks great Tracy. You are persevering, that is a good thing and see you made a masterpiece. I am sure it is not easy, I wouldn’t even attempt it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

