My mechanical heart.

Man, is it raining cats and dogs or what!  (Where on earth did that saying come from anyway?)

So I’ve been glued to the weather stations getting very excited at a predicted East Coast low which was supposed to happen, but didn’t… All we’ve had was a TONNE of rain! Perfect weather for hibernating in my garage and getting stuck into some juicy creating.

I had the biggest hissy fit whilst trying to make a simple heart shape for this.

I’ve had some polymer clay sitting around for um….a few years now..  I thought, well MAYBE I can soften it up?   But anyone who has ever worked with polymer clay (Fimo/Sculpey) knows that there comes a point where no amount of heating or kneading, or bashing, or mineral oil is going to soften that damn stuff up!

I DID try…. EVERYTHING, including getting very VERY angry and bashing it to death with a rolling pin  – more so to relieve my frustration because it didn’t do anything! My hands were SO sore!   I think it is headed for the bin now .

Sooo…how else to make a heart shape that is going to be 3 D-ish yet rigid enough to stick on canvas?

Well….First I cut a heart shape out of some cardboard that I’d saved  and have a look at this…!!!  It delighted me when I turned it over to discover THIS on the back!

Heart

I love when life throws you little coincidences like that 🙂  (Because I DO have a fragile heart!)

Anyway, so I blobbed some pillow stuffing onto the heart shape and then proceeded to wrap packing tape around it until it formed a suitable plumpish heart shape….The rest is history… Tissue paper, glue veins and paint and presto I had my meaty looking heart!

Then I raided the tool cupboard and my bits and pieces stash , glue up to my armpits, paint, texture paste….and viola!  – My Mechanical heart!

Loads of steampunkery going on and quite “dark”….  Maybe the Goths will like it?

Oh and look! There are some of my wings I made from my last blog post! 🙂

My mechanical heart LR small

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Art, Arty farty, Australia, crafts, Creativity, mixed media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My mechanical heart.

  1. Start selling photograph albums with these covers?

  2. Ralph says:

    That’s no coincidence finding the fragile heart. What a find Tracy ! And your Mechanical Heart would look great on your Spell Book. lol 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

