Steam punk wings (how to make)

Buying craft stuff is STUPIDLY expensive, especially here in Australia.

I’ve been scouring the internet to see if anyone has a tutorial out there on how to make steam punk inspired wings (as a craft embellishment), seeing as they seem to be a large feature of this kind of vibe, along with the clocks and cogs….which are also ridiculously expensive to buy if you’re using a lot of them in one project.

I decided to give it a try myself, so this is what I came up with.  Btw, you could make fairy wings, butterfly or moth wings using this same technique.

steam punk wings  finished_

These I will use on a mixed media canvas and to give you an idea of the size, I am planning on putting a fancy spoon in the middle (teaspoon size) but you can make them however big or small you want.

The first step was to roughly sketch a drawing of some wings which I then cut out to use as a template.

First image wings cut out

Then I used some card stock and cut out two identical copies of the wings. One would have been too flimsy so I glued the two together, but if you have thicker card stock you won’t need to do this.  If it’s TOO thick though you’ll have a heck of a job getting your scissors around the edges.

Second image card cut out

Then I drew some lines on the wings and carefully applied some glue to the lines in order to create some veiny texture. I just used this fabric glue – because it dries quick, but really you could use any THICK sort of glue in a bottle with a fine nozzle OR use a texture pen.

Glue

Third image glue on wings

When this dried I glued some crumpled tissue paper over the top for even more texture. (This could also be done with aluminium foil)

 

tissue paper on wings

Then I painted the wings with gold spray paint, but acrylic would do just as well…paint them whatever colour you like!  I wanted mine to look a bit rusty.

Wings painted gold

The final touches are done by gently brushing over the textured surface with a darker colour to make all the wrinkles in the tissue paper and glue – veins stand out as in the first picture.

Hope this helps to inspire someone!   If anyone else has any ideas on ways to make them feel free to drop me a note 🙂

 

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Arty farty, Craft, Creativity, How to, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

