Brushing off the cobwebs…

Hello…..hellooo…helloooo…hellooooooo!

It’s echoing in here. I know, it’s because the few people I may have got even vaguely interested in what I had to say have now long gone, bitten the dust, in search of more exciting blog fodder.

Life gets in the way sometimes. What can I say?  I have no excuses really.

But seriously, life really DID get in the way.  After our trip to the UK and Ireland everything went awry.

We had to move house – went through a TERRIBLE time with our very incompetent real estate at the time.  Our eldest daughter had to come home to live with us due to illness.  Our second eldest daughter went through a marriage breakup and the birth of her second son…. My husband has practically spent more time overseas than at home with his job!

Then, when we finally DID move house, we had to have our faithful dog, beloved pet of 12 years put to sleep as his arthritis was causing him to suffer terribly…to the point where one day he just couldn’t even stand up any more.  Heartbreaking, and I am still mourning him.

So as you see…everything just kind of hit the fan all at once.

And now? Look at it! It’s almost half way through the year already and I only just feel like I’m STARTING it!

So, this is where I’m at.

I’m creating – combining my photography AND my arty farty crafty side.

This is what I made today.  My first attempt at something steampunk-ish using a photo of my daughter. Steam punk mixed media  sm

I LOVE mixed media…..it’s so ME….A bit of EVERYTHING, and it’s very forgiving, because if you change your mind you can just rip something off and stick something else there.  Don’t like the colour?  Paint over it!

Onions!  That is what this form of art is….ONIONS.  Layer upon, layer upon layer!  (Except it shouldn’t make you cry!)

This is very much Finnabair inspired.  Hey, and I only just heard of Finnabair yesterday.  I don’t really even know who she is, except everyone is talking about her and she does stuff like this.  I saw a photo and thought…hey, I’d like to try something like that, and hey presto….this is what happened!

I was actually very inspired by something I saw written by her …Something to the effect of – “Don’t be afraid to create!”   I can’t remember exactly what it said, but you know what, as much as I was a bit intimidated by the prospect of creating something like this, I thought…well, SO WHAT if I fail.  I will have had fun and learned some stuff in the process!

I even threw caution to the wind and used some of my favourite little “bits” from my creative stash.  Stuff that I’ve been “keeping for something really special”….either because it was not cheap to buy, or because I just didn’t want to waste it unless I was certain a project would turn out.

Sometimes you just have to do that.  Tell yourself this IS something special…or it at least WILL BE something special.  Have a little faith in yourself – for a change!

Aside from that…exciting things ahead this year.

More travel!  In July we are taking three of the kids (they are almost all adults now) on a trip to New Zealand, in the dead of winter….in a campervan.  Oh boy.  Yeah, can you see what I see?  Something like in the movies?    All of us, cramped together in a campervan…freezing our butts off….traversing ice and snow…. Toxic gassy fumes from the menfolk…. Men funk.  A toilet “cassette” having to be emptied.  NOT MY JOB!  Up at the crack of dawn to get good photos!  (Oh the non photographers among us will hate that!)

Then…in late September….my husband and I are going to Switzerland.  That’s as far as we’ve got planning THAT trip.    Maybe Poland as well….  Somewhere in that vicinity of the world anyway.

Something else is in the planning also but I won’t talk about that just yet….but it is reason that I really should get back to blogging again.

I have missed it.   Just, you know…rambling….Even if it IS to an empty room.

 

 

 

 

 

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Creativity, daughters, Life, moving house, Pets, photographers, photography, Travel, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brushing off the cobwebs…

  1. Ralph says:

    Hello Tracy 😀 Welcome back ! Wow, has it really been five months since your last post ? Thank you for updating us on what has been happening during that time. You could write a book about what’s been going on. I do hope that you all are settled and that things change for the better for you and your family. Love your art. Take care. Ralph xox ❤

  2. utesmile says:

    This art is lovely Tracy, it looks great. Good you have most things sorted. It is always like that when one thing happens others changes come along too. You just have to go on and time flies. Hope everything is easier and goes smoother again without stress!

Leave a Reply

