When life steers you in a direction…

The other night my husband and I went for a late evening walk with the dog. It was just getting on dark and when we arrived the park looked pretty deserted save for a young couple we saw in the distance walking their dog….hang on…wait a minute…
“Is that a cat they’re walking?” I said to my husband..
I peered closer…
“No! It’s a fox! Oh my God….they’re walking a FOX!”

True enough…there they were with the most beautiful fox, on a harness just strolling through the park like there was nothing odd at all about this.

So…I ran after them and stopped them in their tracks and proceeded to gush all over their slightly alarmed fox, and then I was even brazen enough to ask “because I am a photographer” if I can come to their house to photograph this beautiful animal.
And…they said yes!

The things you see hey.

Last weekend we went away to Port Macquarie, just my husband and I for a little alone time…and what did I see as we were driving through the country side?
A herd of deer in someones front yard!
Unbelievable…especially because recently my daughter and I – as we have been playing around with all these fantasy type photo manipulations, have been saying how cool it would be if we could photograph some deer, but had no idea where we could find some. After all they are not native to Australia.

But…it’s like the universe heard us…and provided.
Though not without some work.
I sat in the sun…inadvertently on an ants nest, all the while being harassed through the fence by an over friendly goat who just wanted to eat my skirt, and waited ever so patiently to get these shots of the male deer.

How beautiful is he!

deer 2  SMALL

Deer

Now…have a look at what Shai did with the deer in a photomanipulation. Soooo magical.

Shai deer

Actually, just recently we have started a facebook page of all our fantasy/surrealistic/magical type photography and photo manipulations..

https://www.facebook.com/twistedgypsyphotography?fref=ts

If anyone is interested we’d love for you to pop by and have a look at what we’re up to. It’s SO much fun and so creatively fulfilling.

Below are a couple of others I’ve been working on that Shai has helped me with the final finishing touches. She’s so clever and I’m learning so much from her.

I said to her today that all that pain I went though….unmedicated pain of labour (she was the only one I didn’t have an epidural with and my goodness…I still remember what it felt like… ) was SO worth it.
It’s just lovely when your kids can teach YOU things, and they ALL do, every one of them. Children truly are your greatest gifts.

“Nesting ground”. With my beautiful daughter Keira as the model. I thought she looked little bird like in this pose.

Keira nest FINAL   SMALL

And “Clarity”. Rising above the murkiness of all that drags you under in life. With Shai as the model…

Rise  SMALL

So funny isn’t it, how life steers you in a direction and then magically doors begin to open.
I had no idea that I would develop such an interest in all this creative fantasy photo manipulation stuff. No idea I could even begin to learn how, because techy things I really struggle with… but it seems that something was paving the way because even before I began to dabble and learn we had this huge overseas trip in the planning…
Later this year – in October, we are going on a trip to England, Ireland and Scotland…and guess what I’ll be doing? Photographing every castle, every magical animal, every beautiful landscape that I can find. It will be a feast for the eyes, and the imagination.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Australia, Creativity, daughters, Life, life experiences, photography, photoshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When life steers you in a direction…

  1. griffinjoyphoto says:

    Spectacular images!!

  2. utesmile says:

    Looks fantastic what you do!

  3. Ralph says:

    These are really brilliant works. May I suggest you watermark them for FB & WP. I really do think the stag and the swan pictures are good enough to be mass produced, framed and sold in superstores.
    What photo editor do you both use Tracy ? ❤

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thanks Ralph, appreciate your comments and your concern re photo stealing…It’s a real issue on the internet. I have struggled with the watermark issue. I was using one for a short while but I really don’t like them at all, and….it’s really easy to remove unobtrusive ones if you know how. These photo’s have been resized and are small enough so as to not be able to be useable for anything like that. I think it’s the way to go when posting images on the net. Of course people can still take them and “use” them on the internet but they’ll be pretty horrible to try and blow up and print out. We use photoshop and Lightroom.

      • Ralph says:

        I understand Tracy.
        You two are photographers and use photoshop well whereas I am a snapper using an old free 2002 ArcSoft Photo Studio that came with the camera which I find is good enough for my WP pictures.

  4. ksbeth says:

    these are all so beautiful and you are right, the universe sends us in unexpected directions. i’m so glad you’ll get to make that trip and can’t wait to see the beautiful results )

  5. This may sound slightly stupid, and even disturbing, but I was lamenting the fact, the other day, that I seemed to have lost your Blog, and I couldn’t remember how long it was since you left a comment on my Blog which I could trace you through and then, hey presto, you like one of my posts, and order is restored to the world of Countingducks. I’m very happy.. As to foxes, we live in a top floor apartment, so you can imagine my ladies unease when she found one sitting outside our front door, because someone else had left the main door open. All ended well, but it was nerve-wracking. I never thought to train it and take it for walks !.

Leave a Reply

