The beauty of water. (Photography)

The more I get behind the camera the more I enjoy it, even though it does FREAK me out because my eyes are just not as reliable as they used to be. Such a bother at a time in your life when you suddenly discover that you want to learn how to take better photographs! Damn glasses just get in the way.

I had fun today down at the lake with my daughter and her friend…a different friend this time.
We decided to get all experimental…even a bit arty farty.
Got some strange looks from people as we cavorted around in the water fully clothed, with a bridal veil and a chair.

This is my favourite picture of the day. (My daughter edited the pictures.)

My daughter Shai. Funny how she picked this pose, because it’s SO “her”….
This image says to me….”Sensitivity and introspection.”
It’s a little bit lonely too isn’t it?

859875_581609591931880_435154692_o

But then on the other hand here she is striking a totally different pose.
Goes to show we all have different facets.

Shai smilechairsmall

And her friend, Louise…as soon as she got on the chair this was her chosen pose.
I love the determination in this.
Amazing how our personalities shine through with our body language.

Louise chairsmall

Here is Shai looking decidedly sultry in the water…
She wanted me to do”dramatic eyes” with the makeup, but that wasn’t the look I was going for for a water photoshoot….so she did it anyway by adjusting the eyes in photoshop.

Shaieyeswater

I love this photo of Louise because it has a slightly soft focus (ahem…failing eyes do come in handy sometimes.)
It reminds me of an almost vintage feel.
I just love the wind in her hair effect too.

Louise black and whitesmall

This one of course because of the lovely swirly veil in the water and the way her body seems to flow gracefully on…

Louiseveilwater

And my daughters eyes in this one, as well as the swirl of her hair.

Shaiwaterswirl

And this one, just because…. It’s hard, really hard to get two people to look the same direction in a photo, have the same expressions…. “work together”
You know…just a simple thing like body position, tilt of the face can screw the vibe up and make them seem separate instead of TOGETHER in the scene.
Anyway, I liked this one. 🙂

1491351_581610241931815_2069314859_o

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Arty farty, Australia, Creativity, Family, photography, teenagers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The beauty of water. (Photography)

  1. releaf1954 says:

    These are beautiful. Your favorite is also my favorite.

  2. ksbeth says:

    these look great, and what i’ve found, because of my eyes being worse than they used to be, the pics that turn out sometimes surprise me with how they look, in a positive way.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thanks Beth. Yes, I was pleasantly surprised with some of these. A lot of the time it’s guess work. I need to get a different camera, one where I can look through a bigger screen because the one I have you can only see through the viewfinder which is proving very difficult now.

  3. I tried for ages to get in and comment on this yesterday but it wouldn’t allow me. Both girls are stunning, I love the 1st and the last shot the most, nice photos and beautiful models. x

  4. Ralph says:

    Hi Tracy 😀

    I had the same problem in trying to comment yesterday. It all seems to be okay now.

    What a lovely photoshoot. The two gir….women are great models, created drama and beauty. Thanks for posting the results. Brilliant !!

    Toni, my neighbour, that does everything for me, had a similar shoot with some girlfriends and her results were also stunning. I will show her your post and see if she will email me her photos for my blog.

    Ralph xox 😀

  5. Pingback: Model Neighbour – Bluefish Way

  6. utesmile says:

    Fantastic pictures, so different than just in a studio, much more dramatic and plain beautiful!

  7. The thing is, they seem to reveal a really good perspective and sense of portraiture so keep going. It’s really quite impressive

Leave a Reply

