2014 – a wild and wonderful and creative year it will be!

I’ve been so slack and haven’t written anything in my blog or, I confess been checking other blogs for quite some time now.
My apologies to my few loyal, who may not be so loyal now, followers. I promise that soon I will try to sit down and find the time to catch up!
Happy new year to everyone out there. I hope for you, whoever may be reading, that it is a truly wonderful one for you and yours. Make it BE so. You can…..oh you CAN!
My advise, take it or leave it, and MY goal is to enjoy the MOMENTS this year. Not stress about all the things that we usually do, just live in the here and now – soak up every delicious minute!

I’m really going to try to make 2014 a year of enjoyment and letting go of all the petty things that regularly, and pointlessly torment my mind.
I’m also going to spend more time being CREATIVE this year.
It’s begun already and today, the first day of the year I have been in a creative frenzy….oh and it’s LOVELY!
Actually it began a few days ago. Suddenly I was hit with a tidal wave of ideas. Came in from nowhere and I’m just going to go with it, even if some of these things are not usually what I would create.

My aim is to craft enough weird and wonderful things in order to have enough to have a market stall.
Especially now that we’re taking our summer break from candles…well, I need something to keep me happily busy!
(I also plan to go on another cruise this year, this time with my husband (who is not so keen, but willing to try it once, he says.)

I love creating things from useless things. Recycled crafts. Up cycled as the snobby people say 🙂
I will attempt to focus on that as much as I can because it’s something I believe in – trying to make use of stuff instead of having it end up in land fill!
But of course, my creative muse will inevitably take me wherever it pleases, as is it’s flitty nature.

I got stuck for a while, thinking “What theme of crafting will I go with?” thinking that my market stall should look like it knows what it’s audience is and stick to one style.
Well, bugger that, I have decided, because that’s just not ME.
My mind is eclectic and full of random mismatched STUFF, and so shall my market stall.

For some reason shabby chic, which has never been my “thing” has been calling out to me.
I have no idea if it’s even still “in” or not, but I don’t care….I’ve decided that it’s very FUN to make!

Here is an altered tin can shabby chic style.
Could hold a candle…..hair accessories… household “flotsam and jetsam”. Whatever!
I like it, so maybe someone else will?
Tizzedtin

And here is a glass candle lid turned upside down, decoupaged and tizzed up to become a votive candle holder.
votive holder

And this….I like this new thing I have discovered…”altered bottles”.
An ordinary wine bottle becomes this decorative boho chic display bottle.
FUN!
Alteredbottlefirstone

An old trivet has been transformed into a decorative wall thingy.
I love old keys.
Chicken wire is a pain in the bum to work with though. Ouch!
Rustic key

One more bottle….less tizzed up this time.

Old bottle

And that’s all for now…

Happy new year to you! And if you’re still speaking to me…..anyone? Tell me what your wild and wonderful plans for 2014 are. I’d love to hear!

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in artists, Craft, crafts, Creativity, happiness, Life, life experiences, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 2014 – a wild and wonderful and creative year it will be!

  1. I’m still talking to you…just…
    kidding – I have been resting for a while, writing two services and my muse has been on holiday too it seemed. Love the bottles Trace very ‘noice’ 😉
    Happy New Year to you the hubby and the kids and family. May your creativity shine, may you have good health, and happiness and most of all may you not have a tormented mind. 🙂 x

    • desertrose7 says:

      Oh I’m SO glad you didn’t ditch me Jen! 🙂 I will be sure to have a peruse through your recent blogs to see what you’ve been up to. Hope you had a lovely Christmas with your family!
      Whew, aren’t you just glad all that silly season stuff is over and done with now?
      Onwards and upwards as they say….. Brand new year, brand new adventures for ALL of us I hope!

      • I wouldn’t ditch you hun, oh onward & upward and time to start anew. Yes glad the silly season is over. Nice Chrissy just ate way too much!! 🙂 no resolutions this year, not even to give up the fags… Though I should .. Mybad xx

      • desertrose7 says:

        It’s ok to have the new years resolution of having NO resolutions! Perfectly ok 🙂

  2. ksbeth says:

    no worries on the timeline, and you are right about celebrating the moments, your stuff is really cool and best of luck with the market stall, maybe sell it online at etsy too? i would buy it ) happy new year to you and yours, beth

    • desertrose7 says:

      Hi and thanks Beth. Yes, I contemplated selling online. Maybe I’ll give it a go? Depends if people get too complicated. I’ve had that happen with selling second hand stuff online. Face to face encounters seem much easier. You see, you like, you buy…or not. 🙂

  3. utesmile says:

    Off course I am still taking to you… we all have times where we are busy nad neglect blogging and reading others, but that is life.
    Your crafted things are absolutely beautiful, are you selling them? What great ideas you have, and so beautifully done.
    I do not have new years resolutions, still I like to have happiness, love, joy and enjoy life as it comes to me. I shall try not to get stressed… hehe easy said… as I realised lately there is more to life than work. So here we are…. looking forward to see more on your blog whenever you have time.
    BTW my Christmas dinner was perfect, nothing burnt and everythign just the way it should be… I was so proud!

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thanks Ute. Yes, I plan to sell them. Just got to build up a decent amount of stuff first. All in experimental mode right now.
      Ha! Glad you didn’t burn anything. 🙂 You SHOULD be proud! We just had a cold Christmas lunch this year.
      However, recently I did make a Yorkshire pudding that very strangely turned out like foam rubber. Seriously, it was like biting into a memory foam mattress. I have NO idea how that happened, lol!!!
      Have a great happy joyful stress free new year!

  4. Thanking you for the New Year blessings…
    Still working on the patience thing but for you I can wait until you are inspired.
    Wishing you a pleasant cruise through 2014.

    http://meandtheboss.com/

  5. Ralph says:

    Hi Tracy 😀 What lovely bottles !! Have a great 2014. Ralph xox 😀

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thanks Ralph. I just need MORE bottles now. We’re not big drinkers. I contemplated sneaking round the neighbourhood and raiding peoples recycle bins but there’s probably some law against that. lol! Have a good one!

      • Ralph says:

        If you ask the neighbours, showing them what you have accomplished, they may share a bottle or two with you to take away. A win-win situation 😀

  6. releaf1954 says:

    You’re back! The holidays are busy times; I haven’t updated my blog much, either. It looks as if you’re going to have a creative new year. I like the altered bottles best.

  7. Tasneem says:

    Creativity for the win :p great post and great photos.
    xx

Leave a Reply

