Images of America.

Snow pumpkin

I have visited the US before – fifteen years ago, but this experience was different I suppose because we saw so many other areas this time.

We drove from New York, though Pennsylvania, to Ohio, to Niagra falls, to New Hampshire, Salem, very quickly went through Mystic and back down to New York.

We did a lot of driving. TOO much driving really so a lot of the time it was a like drive by holiday which was frustrating to me because I could see so many things from the car window that I wanted to get out and photograph and film.  In fact at the end of the trip I lost it once  and began bawling in the car through exhaustion and frustration!

A few in and around the city.

Statue of Liberty,jpg

Christmas NY

NYcity

The steam rising from the city grates.

Steamgrates,jpg

The fire escapes…of course we don’t have those here either in Australia so they were quirky and “movie like” to us too.

Fireescapes

One day we passed a film crew setting up in the city. We didn’t see anyone famous though.

Movieset

Here’s just some of the landscapes we saw passing us by on our way through the more rural areas.

Landscapecarwindow

Not bad for a moving shot from the car window hey!

DSC_0923

Love the red barns against the green.

Red barn

DSC_0962

One thing I noticed and you can see it in the above picture is that the winter light in the US was absolutely beautiful…..so SOFT.  It was like the gentlest of light I have ever seen before. The downside was that by 3.30 in the afternoon it was beginning to fade and made taking pictures more difficult.  Not enough LIGHT in one day!

Iceonrockwalls

Ice on the rock walls on the side of the road.

DSC_0948

I love the character filled houses in America.  The shape of the homes…different levels to the roof tops, attic windows, the trims, the porches with their delightful porch swings and chairs….the pumpkins on the steps.  The historic feel to many of the homes. And many so creepy and haunted house looking.  Others just so sweet and quaint like gingerbread houses.  Even the homes in the new estates, though many identical, still had so much more character than the squat little boxes they build here in Australia.

There seems to be a distinct lack of imagination in this country when it comes to building houses.

I didn’t get fantastic shots of the MOST character filled houses we saw on our travels. I wanted to, but again, we had so much damn driving to do!  The pumpkins delighted me.

DSC_0974

DSC_0090

DSC_0932

DSCN1095

And the wreaths on the doors delighted me.

DSC_0941

Bluedoor

I have made a pledge with myself to have an Autumn wreath on my front door next year, since it IS my favourite season of all.

We saw a lot of abandoned old buildings and houses. So many more than what you see here – unless of course you go to the outback.

Anotherrundownhouse

This was the spookiest old abandoned house that I saw along the way.

Love it!

Spooky house

We were a little late for the spectacular show of Autumn, but we did see some scattered here and there….

Autumn trees

Pretty street

…so most of the tree’s had lost their leaves already and we found it funny watching so many people with leaf blowers in their yards.

Seemed a bit pointless really. They need leaf suckers.

I love how all the leaves look on the ground beneath the bare tree’s.  It is a poetic sight.

To me it’s like the tree’s have shed their beautiful gowns and stand proud in all their naked abandon.

Nice tree

Americawintertree

Bare tree’s to me are simply beautiful.  Spooky, artistic and bleak.  I love bleak.

I stopped one day and took this picture looking through some bare tree fog filled forest which I adore!  In fact I want to get it blown up and have a print made so I can hang it in my house.

aaaa

But I took two more that I love as well….I can’t decide which one is the best.

Spooky tree's 2

Spooky tree's 3

And cold….oh my GOD was it cold! I have never been so cold in all my life.

Here are some COLD pictures.

Ducks on ice!  (This delighted me too…never seen ducks walking on ice before.)

Ducksonice

A frozen waterfall!

Frozenwaterfall3

Ok so it’s a mini snowman….but it’s a snowman!

Snowmanoncar

We just don’t see snow ploughs on the front of cars where we live.

Snow plough

And I’ll leave it at that for now….

I’ll be back to post more about our trip later!

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Life, life experiences, memories, Nature, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Images of America.

  1. ksbeth says:

    happy you had a good taste of what fall is like here in the states. love your pictures )

  2. utesmile says:

    Wow great pictures, thanks. Well I think if I ever go I shall go in summer…. I don’t like it that cold! 😉 At least back home you have summer, so enjoyu the warmth and sunshine!

  3. I enjoyed the photographs, and very nice to see a couple of my relatives venturing onto the ice. They look happy, which is always important.

  4. releaf1954 says:

    I love your photos. That is one very spooky house! The one of ducks on ice is my favorite. I’ve never seen that before, either.

  5. Dennis Dring says:

    Love the frozen waterfall

Leave a Reply

