Sketches by my daughter.

Sometimes you just have to brag about your kids a bit hey.
So today I’m having a brag.

My seventeen year old, Shai, has been back at it with a pencil recently and I must say suddenly her talents have exploded.
She was pretty good before but after a long absence, well sometimes things just get better when you leave them alone for a while (That doesn’t work for cakes in the oven though.)

Now she is getting SO excited about going to America, not to see all the wonderful sites and incredible scenery and be in a different WORLD. No….she just wants to go pencil shopping.
She’s been googling all of the amazing weird and wonderful art supplies that they have in the US….and SO much cheaper than here.
So no fashion stores, no shoe shops, no cosmetic counters hold any interest for her….Just… pencils and paper.

Oh so easy to please hey?
Just think of how many pencils she will be able to fit in one suitcase?

Can you take pencils on the plane or do they qualify as a deadly weapon?

Here are some of her recent drawings.

1397688_537262733033233_388737845_o

1398573_535725609853612_360783345_o

1074790_537681559658017_344824876_o

1403172_536165936476246_338226069_o

1404820_536165946476245_1607139411_o

Lucas

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in artists, Arty farty, Australia, Family, Parenting, teenagers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sketches by my daughter.

  1. AMAZING and pass on a giant WHOOP WHOOP to Shai – these are brilliant! Such a talented daughter – and well may you brag mum. Is that John Snow from Game of Thrones??
    Get her to look at Christopher Neve he does pencil sketches portraits – he apparently is in prison in the states I think – but Kayla showed me what he does. Worth looking at. The baby, particularly the mouth and nose – which are so hard to do – I am in awe. I haven’t sketched for years 😦 Shai well done- you have a gift πŸ™‚

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thank you! I showed Shai your comment. πŸ™‚
      Yes it’s John Snow. So you’re a woman of many talents then? Would love to see some of your sketches if you ever pick it up again? It’s nice to be diversely creative.

      • You are welcome and Shai is VERY talented. I sold an oil painting years ago of a tree – I doodle now and then I have contemplated doing a sketch and posting but I would be put to shame by her talent πŸ™‚ xxx

      • desertrose7 says:

        Aggh, see now paintbrushes just scare me. I feel like a two year old using them. Did you take a picture of the oil painting tree? That’s pretty cool.
        I like the idea of being an “artiste” πŸ™‚ But it’s just a fantasy. Shai, well she’s weird enough to be one. πŸ™‚

      • No sadly I didn’t 😦 Large tree autumn leaves, in front of an old wooden fence, we are talking years ago. I think they guy who bought it paid $50-$80? can’t remember.
        Perhaps I shall draw something, if my sketch muse visits πŸ˜‰ Shai is ultra cool πŸ™‚ x

      • desertrose7 says:

        Oh dear….should always take a pic! Sounds like it was lovely anyway. Nice to think of your creations in someones home.
        Thanks for the lovely compliments, on behalf of Shai.

      • yes – I don’t know why I didn’t – young – unknowing – welcome – they are warranted πŸ™‚

  2. ksbeth says:

    she has a wonderful talent, glad she picked up that pencil again.

  3. Ralph says:

    What great drawings Shai. Well done πŸ˜€

  4. releaf1954 says:

    ZI, too, am in awe. I hope she finds lots of wonderful pencils in America. πŸ™‚

  5. releaf1954 says:

    I guess I hit Z when I was trying to hit “shift”. Oops! I’m not sure who ZI is, but I am in awe.

  6. sf says:

    VERY talented! Love the shapes within that eye. So interesting! And the baby looks ultra cute too.

  7. Grandad and Nanna Sue says:

    Great drawings Shai. Your talent has really blossomed after the dormant spell. we both recognised Lucas immediately. Who are the others? Nanna Sue thinks the girl before Lucas is one of your friends in Winmalee.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Shai says thank you! No, it;s not Toni in that pic. Thats a friend from here. They look kind of similar though. The others are TV actors from her favourite shows and the little girl is just a photo she found online.

  8. Chris Edgar says:

    Wow, those eyes are so lovingly detailed — I hope she knows how much we random online people appreciate her work. Unless that would embarrass her into not drawing, in which case I hope she doesn’t know. πŸ™‚

    • desertrose7 says:

      I’m sure she appreciates the encouragement so thank you. I think it’s inspiring her to keep drawing. She keeps showing me these hyper realism drawings by other artists. SO realistic you have trouble telling them apart from a photograph. I think secretly she’d like to get to that level. πŸ™‚

  9. Tasneem says:

    Wow.
    They’re amazing! I always wished I had that talent but drawing just isnt my calling. Sadly,
    I hope she continues to draw because that she is super talented.

Leave a Reply

