NO. MORE. DYE!

Ok…really, now I am DONE!
RIT, you suck!

But I suck too….because I decided to dye ONE more thing.

I had this very vivid orange Indian table runner that was just too bright for my tastes. (Don’t know why I bought it in the first place)
So…I decided, well…why not tone it down a bit. Use a bit of brown dye to hopefully get a more burnt orange colour. That I could live with..somewhere.
Why not hey? Nothing to lose? Not as if I’d be FREQUENTLY washing it for the dye to run out.

So, I donned the gloves again, and in went the table runner.
When it was done I hung it on the line to dry.

This morning I went out to go and get it and immediately I knew something was wrong.

My table runner had become PETRIFIED.

It was like beef jerky hooked on the line there.
When I took it off it actually made crispy noises.

So this is what I am left with.
A table runner “sculpture”.
That is all it can be now because you cannot iron these damn things as even on the lowest setting the fabric melts.
In fact, I think that may be the problem. It must have silk or something in the patchwork bits.
The dye – the RIT bloody dye I have is supposed to be for cotton. Maybe the salt in the dye bath did something to it too?

Why didn’t I even THINK of that?

So, I now have this pickled, petrified table runner that can be used to go surfing with, beat an intruder about the head with, or stand in the corner as a “conversation piece”.

Table runner

table runner 2

Oh and if you’re up for another laugh…
I was called into my 17 year old daughters bedroom yesterday because she wanted to “show” me something.
She was SUPPOSED to be studying.

Later she wrote this on facebook to her friends.

How to study:

Step 1: Open microsoft word with the intention of writing an essay
Step 2: Become distracted by a mirrored box which is reflecting the sun
Step 3: Move the box in the sun to make rainbow disco lights in your room
Step 4: Place the box on your bare stomach, stop breathing and watch the rainbow dots move to your heartbeat
Step 5: Call your mother to witness the strange beating lights and watch her expression
Step 6: Congratulations! You have completed a well deserved session of study and may now relax

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Arty farty, Australia, crafts, Creativity, life experiences, Parenting, teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to NO. MORE. DYE!

  1. ksbeth says:

    so funny, now it can be a cool piece of art

  2. Oh dear when RIT turns evil. Though the pic of it on the table looks really cool, like a furrowed out piece of wood…possibly not your intent I know – but as you say a great talking piece. Yay Shai for studying…not but funny it was 😉

  3. Lessons learned…as for the daughter…
    does the apple fall far from the tree ???

    Love, hugs and blessings…ME and the Boss

  4. utesmile says:

    You certainly have a fun life! You could always serve salty snacks in the table runner when you have guests ????

  5. Miriam E. says:

    oh my Tracy… that ‘sculpture’ on the table pic slayed me. so sorry for your loss, but… damn that was funny!

Leave a Reply

