Portrait photography.

 

So yes, I am a frustrated photographer at heart.
I only know the basics, but now that I have glasses it’s making things a lot easier 🙂

Yesterday my daughter and her friend asked me to help them get all dressed up and take some pictures of them. This time they wanted a grungier/wilder look. Ok, so they’re 18 and nearly 18…. still makes me feel a bit uncomfortable seeing my daughter all dressed up and looking – well,  HOT, but we’ve done the toned down innocent look before.
Besides, compared to some modeling photographs I’ve seen, these are very tame.

They ended up kind of looking like halfway between slightly goth, and “off to the races”, but with an edge.

Luckily it was an overcast day which always makes it easier (so I’m learning) and we found the perfect place- a wall under a bridge with lots of lovely mould and graffiti.

Both girls are just gorgeous (I think!) and just so photogenic. I really didn’t have to do much except guide them a little and get the focus right.

My daughter (the blonde one) would make a perfect model. (Not saying her dark haired beauty friend wouldn’t!) It’s just that my daughter is just stupidly tall – all legs and a body like a coathanger.
She sometimes gets it in her head that she’d like to be a model, but contrary to how she looks in these pics she is SO incredibly shy and innocent, and SWEET and I feel that the modeling world would simply eat her alive. So many bitchy girls and EGOS to contend with.
And at the end of the day, I kind of feel uncomfortable about the whole idea of (anyone) simply being exploited for what is only skin deep.
But then again…..I have done it WITH these photos!

There is just something about youth and beauty that I think makes us admire  and envy it.
Is it our culture? Is it because we have become bombarded by nothing BUT “youth and beauty” through every avenue of media?

Or is it just an innate human thing because youth, clear skin, rosy cheeks all means FERTILITY and as animals we are driven to procreate our species.

I’m at odds with it really, because I feel what with all the plastic surgery going on these days that we are losing the focus on what is real – and the fact is there are far more REAL women out there than fake, and I think true beauty really emanates from within – and at ANY age!
It’s a confidence thing.
You can have the most stunning girl/woman, but if she is not drawing upon her own inner spirit – her truth, her strength and her “power” then she will simply not appear to be as attractive.
I really believe that!

I think because my daughter and her friend were in costume – kind of actors playing a part – this is what helped them to, momentarily, tap into their own “inner power” to look as they did in these photo’s.

1265620_519739731452200_730856658_o

1278009_519740411452132_1854271707_o

1272679_519740051452168_1558498741_o

1272201_519739411452232_516775487_o

1278879_519739671452206_1477105057_o

793642_519739038118936_1393566390_o

1233275_519739301452243_130865737_o

1294374_519740201452153_713930441_o

1265456_519739788118861_2012003949_o

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in animal behaviour, Arty farty, Body image, Fashion, Life, life experiences, Parenting, photography, teenagers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Portrait photography.

  1. From your younger point of view to my older reality,
    a recent portrait of my wife, who will be celebrating 75 years young this weekend.

    http://meandtheboss.wordpress.com/

    and my concept of what constitutes a beautiful woman.

    Love, hugs and prayers…ME and the Boss

    • desertrose7 says:

      Oh my goodness ! 75???? I don’t believe it! And you see, I see in your wife that very “confidence” I speak of.
      That, to me is the elixir of true “beauty”.
      Plus of course, the soul within, which I think comes through in that confidence, that knowing of “self”.

  2. Trace these are lovely. My favourites are the 1st one of the 2 girls – just the look in their eyes. The last one of Shay (I hope I spell this right) is stunning the black and white – she is so you. Same mouth and eyes. Do not fear they have inner beauty as these weren’t photo-shopped. Yes, I am in agreement with what you have said. To many young girls are modelling. They are actually trying to ban this in France as girls as young as 9 and 10 are made up to look like young women. No wonder we have the pedophilia that we do. In saying my little rave, the girls, both of them look stunning in these shots. Well done to all of you.

  3. ksbeth says:

    beautiful pics of beautiful girls )

  4. Ralph says:

    It’s really great that your daughter asked YOU to take the photos. There has been a lot on the news about kids being seduced into having regrettable photos taken by phone or internet leading to blackmail and deeper trouble. So well done both of you. The photos came out well and you all should be proud of them. Ralph xox 😀

    • desertrose7 says:

      I think I’m pretty lucky Ralph – these two girls are pretty sensible. Yikes, knock on wood hey…No, I’m pretty confident that with all my nagging and lecturing and the things I make them watch regarding social media and all that sort of stuff…. This daughter in particular is more likely to take ridiculous photo’s of herself pulling unimaginable weird faces. She’s still very much a kid at heart. 😉 Thanks for taking a look.

Leave a Reply

