Tie dye disasters.

Tie-dye

I don’t know what possesses me sometimes.
I went out recently and ended up buying a tonne of RIT fabric dye and a WHOLE bunch of white tank tops and T-shirts with the intention of doing some tie dying. I don’t know why, because I should have remembered my attempts YEARS ago….and really, I think I am too old to even WEAR tie dye now, even though it does seem to be coming back into fashion this summer in a subdued washed out pastel kind of way.

I DID however think that perhaps I could help towards my 17 year old daughters intended T-shirt design business. After the HSC she will be getting cracking with putting her graphic design skills to work and we’ve just ordered the transfer paper which should be here soon! Very fun..and great that she has the talents behind her to make this work!
I was thinking maybe we could combine some interesting dying effects with her designs.

I don’t like the typical tie dye look….too….blah. All that garish rainbow hippy stuff. Don’t like it (though my daughter does.) but some of the softer scrunched looks I can handle.
I like the ombre look which is like a graduating colour look…..deeper at the bottom moving up towards lighter shades. Subtle, and you don’t have to tie anything.

I thought I’d try that with my dye.
Well…first of all the dye didn’t dissolve properly did it. So I ended up with speckles.
Then, for some reason I decided not to stick with one colour….so I opened another dye packet.
Then another…..
You can see where this ended up hey?

I ended up…opening ALL the packets, and just in the same way as what ALWAYS happens when I get the notion into my head that I can paint a “really good” abstract painting…..well that’s what happened with my T-shirt.
I quickly gave up on the ombre look and began flicking and flecking, spraying, spackling and dripping with dye.
I was like a mad woman. Pro heart would of been impressed. Dye was going all over the place – and all over ME….all over my hands which kept slipping out of the stupid plastic gloves ( like the ones you get in hair dye packets) so I eventually just took them off!

I gave up on mixing the SALT into the dye bath too (what was I thinking!!!) because for some reason it wouldn’t dissolve! Even in hot water!

Oh what a disaster.
So….now I have all this dye, already mixed up – I’ve stored it in plastic spray bottles, but I read that it will only last a few days like this.
Oh cripes!
So now, I very quickly ( like tomorrow!) have to think how I can use this dye.
Do I risk ruining the rest of these shirts with it? Or just tip it away and count my losses? RIT is the cheapest dye, but at $8 a box it adds up!

I don’t think it’s very good dye to be honest.

I know, I know….a poor workman blames his tools.

Why do I do these things?

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Art, Arty farty, Craft, Creativity, Fashion, Life, life experiences, painting, teenagers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tie dye disasters.

  1. I’m impressed that you even thought about it. I’d be worried about dropping the dye on the carpet or other surface and then I would face something like the domestic version of the atom bomb

  2. Ralph says:

    Yes. Why do you do these things Tracy ? It seems like you need someone to hold your hand while doing these things. May I suggest waiting until your daughter is around !! Very funny post though. Loved it. Ralph xox 😀

  3. You do these things because you are creative – I am sure you will reach a solution – I would perhaps count losses and start again… but your kinda having fun with it…no? 🙂

  4. releaf1954 says:

    Tip it away, count your losses and get some real dye before you touch any more of those T-shirts. In this case, it is essential to find fault with your tools. You need fiber reactive dyes that will bond with your fabric. There is no way to get decent results with RIT (sorry, RIT — I know you did much to popularize tie-dyeing in the seventies by promoting it with Girl Scouts, but your dyes suck. They fade the first time you wash the garment). That said, I love your blog and I’m glad I found it.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thank you 🙂 and yes, after further attempts yesterday on the SAME T- shirts I realised that when I went to rinse them – despite following the instructions, the dye was just running out!
      I’m sure I used Dylon dyes many years ago with more success than this.

Leave a Reply

