Our family outback adventures (Part 2)

63109179_295

The next part of our journey took us on the Gunbarrel Highway.
Yes, they call this crude corrugated dirt track a “highway”.
It took about three days for us to painfully slowly – cross the Gunbarrel and in all that time we saw plenty of wild camels but only one other car.

By this time I had been raiding the medicine bag and taking every possible drug I had to try and make me feel better – it wasn’t working.
I felt like death warmed up.

One evening while camped in this area we all saw a strange light appear in the sky at dusk. It was a single very large, very bright light.
The landscape is dead flat out there and sound carries, but this light appeared in the distance and there was no sound. It seemed to approach us, getting larger and brighter, then sunk down the sky to the edge of the horizon and then simply disappeared.
Couldn’t have been a car, because up ahead of us was the only car we saw the entire trip – and besides Chitty Chitty bang bang, cars don’t fly.
Couldn’t have been a plane or helicopter or we would of heard it.
Very strange.
We’re convinced it was a UFO!
Either that or some weird version of the legendary “Min Min lights”.

Further on our travels, on the way to Uluru we saw a group of Aboriginal people walking along the side of this isolated road.
I wanted to stop for them, ask them if everything was ok, but then I saw that one of them was carrying a shotgun.
Freaked us all out!
I’m sure they were harmless, probably just doing a bit of hunting but for us city folk, well…..we just don’t see people with GUNS!
We left them in our dust.

By the time we got to Uluru we had met up with my parents there who were also enjoying their own outback trip.
This is where we met “Mongrel” the cheeky Emu who was a resident at the campground.
Very funny experiences with him trying to eat the kids toes and even trying to steal our breakfasts!

It was at this campground that my hubby hung some wet washing over a fence.
When I went to take it off (thinking it wasn’t very nice to have all of my “delicates” strung out for the world to see on a fence) I got the shock of my life…..literally, because the fence was electrified!
Learned a lesson there too.
Never hang your bra on an electric fence!

It was at Kings Canyon that I finally got to see the bush nurse there who took one look at me and said “You look like shit!”
Lucky for me I was able to get the much needed antibiotics for my infected throat and ears.

Or click on link below to take you to Vimeo. WordPress is playing silly buggers.

Kids documentary – part 2 from Tracy Lundgren on Vimeo.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Australia, camping, Children, culture, Family, Humour, husbands, Life, life experiences, Nature, Travel, Videography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Our family outback adventures (Part 2)

  1. 😦 this one won’t play for me ..sulking now

    • desertrose7 says:

      Yes I see. Hmm, I think wordpress has an issue for some reason. Sorry bout that!
      Click on the link below the video and it should work.

      • Ah now I got it. 🙂 What amazing sunsets and that is the first time I have seen an Emu being cuddled (or touched for that matter). So glad fingers were still in tact afterwards. Really enjoying this – thank you. 🙂

    • desertrose7 says:

      That was THE most amazing sunset I have ever seen in my life. The video doesn’t do it justice, and it was one of those ones that just went on and on…..like some amazing display from nature. That emu was the cheekiest bugger. He’d even steal your washing!
      Thanks for watching Jen. Glad you’re enjoying it. 🙂

  2. Ralph says:

    How many people can say that they cuddled an emu. Fantastic !! It’s a BIG country to drive in !! Ralph xox 😀

  3. ksbeth says:

    i love this adventure, especially the light and all of the interesting characters, both human and animal )

Leave a Reply

