My husband has fallen in love (and lost his mind!)

Sun_Conure_Sitting

So we’re out and about today doing some shopping and I happened to see a pet shop.
I love looking at animals, so of course I took a wander in, with hubby grumbling behind me.
“Why are we going in HERE?”
Next minute the lady in the shop takes out this most beautiful VIBRANT coloured parrot and puts it on my husband’s hand.

Now, my husband is not that fond of birds.
“Useless things…” he says.
“All they do is make a mess.”
Which disgruntles myself and my daughter because we’ve always had cockatiels and love their funny little traits and very different personalities.
I used to have a cockatiel who would whistle tunes, mimic the sound of the microwave beeps, make a phone ringing noise, and would even imitate the “chink, chink, chink” of the sound of a teaspoon being stirred in a tea cup. He was lovely, but unfortunately he met an untimely, gruesome end.
My cat ate him 😦
That sounds so absolutely awful doesn’t it, but it’s true. These things happen when you combine prey with predator and have lots of young kids in the house.
I don’t know who didn’t latch the cage properly….but oh….it was a terrible terrible day.

So, there we are in this pet shop and this parrot is going NUTS for my husband…Kissing him, exploring his nostrils, even trying to stick it’s TONGUE in his mouth! (The bird was doing this. Not the other way round, understand?)
Well, my husband just thought this was the most adorable thing EVER!
“He likes me, see!” he was saying, ever so chuffed.

Then he started talking to the pet shop owners, asking questions.
(What!)

“I like this bird. You know me, I don’t usually like birds….but I LIKE this bird.” he starts repeating again and again.
(Oh Lord, I’m in trouble here!)

Then he asks the question.
“How much is he?”
(Oh….no.)

The answer is $500

You would think that THAT would be the end of it wouldn’t you?
But no….We get back to the car (After hubby reluctantly said goodbye to his new best feathered -very-expensive- friend) and then he’s on the internet on his phone looking up the breed.
Sun Conures, or Sun Parakeets.
Beautifully coloured birds, mainly golden yellow when they’re young (as this one was) but develop into one of the most colourful parrots of them all.
But….LOUD.
Apparently these birds are real screechers. Like, very VERY loud!

But all day my husband has been going on about this damn bird.
“If you put in half, I’ll pay half….”
“He was such a nice bird…..wasn’t he? He could sit on my shoulder all day while I’m working at home….We could take him for rides in the car….”

On and on he went.
“Who IS this person sitting next to me? ” I wondered to myself.

“Darling, you only like the bird because it gave you some tongue!” I finally said.

We got home and he’s been researching them. (So have I and sent him links where they say “LOUD BIRDS!” ….”VERY DEMANDING, INQUISITIVE. WILL SCREAM IF NOT GIVEN ENOUGH ATTENTION!”)
Of course, he’s looking at youtube video’s and reading all the lovey dovey wonderful stuff and ignoring all the SCREAMING stuff.

What am I to do?
I’ve never seen my husband like this before?
Over a bird.
And a YELLOW one at that!

(He was very cute though I must admit.)

……Latest update as I’m just about to post this…
Husband comes in and says.
“I read that it says they only scream for ten minutes in the morning and then ten minutes at night. It’s to greet you. Or say goodnight to you….and they are much quieter if kept as a single bird…..and they can be toilet trained…..”

He looks very excited.
(Like a crazy person.)

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in animal behaviour, Cats, Humour, husbands, Life, life experiences, Marriage, Pets and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My husband has fallen in love (and lost his mind!)

  1. It seems that you are doomed to a life of screeeech, he has fallen in love, yes, yes I know ‘it’s yellow’ maybe you can dye him? I don’t think you will last long, he will plead and plead and well…they can be toilet trained (ok is it just me or is that odd). Good luck hun – but be prepared the crazy person has his mind set on a Sun Conures…and yes they are expensive little beasts. 🙂

    • desertrose7 says:

      The whole THING is just very odd! I don’t know if it’s a part of my husbands grieving process after losing our dog….or whether he is just suffering from temporary insanity.
      We still have a CAT.
      $500 is a very very expensive snack.

  2. And we know that yellow is your favorite colour !!!!!
    Love, hugs, prayers and good luck…ME and the Boss

  3. Ralph says:

    It seems to me that your husband has his eye on a younger bird. Paint yourself yellow and start screeching Tracy 😉 Ralph xox 😀

  4. utesmile says:

    This bird is not a bargain though….. men are jsut so easily persuaded and gullible. And it is yellow. I do hope he is making hte right decision, for his sake! You don’t have it easy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

