My relationship with the colour yellow.

file000550434084

I’m so bored that I’m going to tell you about my intense dislike of the colour yellow.
I’m still sick. No longer manufacturing gallons of snot in my head, but I ache and just don’t have the energy to do anything else but sit here with my laptop warming my thighs as I explain to you about this yellow problem I have.

I always said that my dislike of yellow started when I was in primary school in Africa and all our sporting teams had names and colours, of course.
Eland, was green.
Sable was yellow
Springbok was blue
and Kudu was red.
Sable always won. Every damned time they won, waving their flags in all their arrogant YELLOW glory.

Our school was BIG on sports.
In fact you were allowed to go home at lunch time for an hour or an hour and a half – something like that, but you had to go back as the whole afternoon was devoted to SPORTS.

I hated sports. All kinds. Running, long jump, high jump, competitive sports, especially “rounders”.
I’m just not a sporty person AT ALL. Not in any way shape or form.
I just don’t see the point, in doing it OR watching people do it. Sport, I mean.

I was in the team “Eland” and our colour was green.
The green team always lost.

If you wanted to psychologically disturb me all you would have to do is lock me in a yellow room with nothing but yellow objects surrounding me.
A yellow couch, yellow rug, yellow throw cushions, yellow knick knacks, and a canary.

Honestly, the colour yellow has that much of an effect on me.
It really makes me feel physically uneasy. Sick almost. On edge…..anxious.

I don’t know why because many people think of yellow as being such a nice cheery colour.
Like a yellow kitchen…to some seems happy, warm and welcoming.
It makes me have a panic attack.

A while ago at a market this girl came up to our stall and she had a bunch of yellow daffodils she’d just bought. They matched the bright yellow top she was wearing.
THEN, she picked up our “Monkey farts” jar candle which happens to be the brightest yellow you can think of.
She smiled and said “I’ll have this one thanks.”
Then she laughed and said
“I’m having a really yellow day”
And I nearly fainted.
Whoa….too much yellow in such close proximity.
Go away yellow girl….far far away.

What is the energy of yellow anyway?
Let’s see what google says?

Here is the link so no one sues me for plagiarism http://www.colour-affects.co.uk/psychological-properties-of-colours – but within this article here is what is says about yellow.

YELLOW. Emotional
Positive: Optimism, confidence, self-esteem, extraversion, emotional strength, friendliness, creativity.
Negative: Irrationality, fear, emotional fragility, depression, anxiety, suicide.

The yellow wavelength is relatively long and essentially stimulating. In this case the stimulus is emotional, therefore yellow is the strongest colour, psychologically. The right yellow will lift our spirits and our self-esteem; it is the colour of confidence and optimism. Too much of it, or the wrong tone in relation to the other tones in a colour scheme, can cause self-esteem to plummet, giving rise to fear and anxiety. Our “yellow streak” can surface.

See! It DOES make me feel suicidal….and anxious. Too stimulated!
I definitely have a yellow streak.

Give me purple any day, and turquoise. My two most favourite colours to wear in clothing, and then red, but a deep blood red, not a tacky fire engine red.

Now….things I am learning as I am writing this and googling.

Never paint your babies room in YELLOW. Apparently it affects our primitive brain which we equate the colour yellow with bright sunshine. (bingo…I hate bright sunshine)
Yellow makes babies CRY. (me too) They need cool greens (apparently) to mimic the shade of the rainforest.
(Hey, that’s what I just read!)

And red? Red too is something that should be used, and worn with caution.
Apparently red invokes a feeling of distrust.
Blue on the other hand does the opposite.
So, for the men out there, if you go on a first date, I suggest you wear a blue tie, not a red one, and for God’s sake don’t wear a yellow shirt….ever….ever, ever…because who knows how many yellowaphobic ladies are out there. I’m sure I’m not alone.

Ever wondered why mny fast food restaurants are painted red and yellow?
It’s to make you hurry up and get the hell out of there so you can go somewhere else to feel that “dirty feeling inside” as you digest the junk they just made you pay them for.

In nature YELLOW CAN KILL A FELLOW.
Isn’t that how it goes?
And “RED WILL MAKE YOU DEAD”.
“PURPLE AND BLUE IS GOOD FOR YOU.”
I’m just making this up now.
I’m full of…..

Truly, is there anyone out there who actually LIKES the colour yellow?
Do you have it in your house?
Do you…..gulp, actually WEAR it?

Does anyone else have a colour phobia?

Can you tell just how bored I am?

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, health and well being, Humour, Internet, Life, life experiences, memories, phobias, Weird thoughts and odd stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to My relationship with the colour yellow.

  1. ksbeth says:

    interesting, because i have a yellow story as well. growing up, my mother always dressed my 2 sisters and i in the same outfits (not triplets), but different colors. i weirdly grew up thinking my favorite color was yellow because my mom told me it was and all of my matching clothes were that color. in reality, as i grew up, i realized green was and always has been my true favorite color. lucky now i can buy things in whatever color i choose at last )

  2. I couldn’t resist – forgive me roflmao – delete if you don’t want it up πŸ™‚

    • desertrose7 says:

      Now that’s stuck in my head!!!!
      it’s ok though, because he’s wearing blue. You’re lucky! πŸ™‚

      • I also have the ear worm from playing it πŸ™‚ Oh thank gawd for the blue πŸ˜‰ Hmm I have never really thought of yellow, I don’t wear it, I don’t have it my house (ok I lie maybe a tea towel and a flower in the garden) I’m with you – purples, turquoise, deep shades of pink (the right pink) emerald greens and black (I have alot of black). Brilliant post as usual lovey. x

      • desertrose7 says:

        It’s like orange. Not many people can wear orange well either. Tis a rare person who can wear orange without looking like a lollipop lady.
        I know what you mean about the “right shade of pink”. There are pinks, and pinks that stink.

  3. Ralph says:

    I only have two yellow items in my apartment. A bottle of fizzy lemonade left over from a party and one of those new fangled squiggly yellow bulbs which gives mosquitoes a bad time ….. I don’t know why I’ve got it as there are no mosquitoes here πŸ˜€ I hope you are feeling better today Tracy. Ralph xox πŸ˜€

  4. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    I feel that way about Burgundy! Thanks for the color class!

  5. White, the absence of color (with light), Black, the presence of all colors (without light),
    Red, Yellow, Blue…I tend to lean towards the blues…maybe a little jazz, but never country and backwards. It is all in our head (eyes and Brain) and how you perceive a color can be
    different from day to day, from morning to night and sometimes influenced by the people, places and things around us. History aside, I’ll give the whole spectrum an equal chance as long as it makes me feel good. Love, hugs and prayers…ME and the Boss

    • desertrose7 says:

      An interesting thought too is how we all SEE colour. I watched a documentary once which said that certain tribes of people don’t see colour as we see it. It’s an interesting notion to think that perhaps we might not be seeing exactly the same colours as other people do?

  6. P.S. You did hear about what you get when you play Country Music backwards ???
    You get your wife back, you get your dog back, you get your truck back etc…etc…
    Love, hugs and pray for the crazy guy…ME and the Boss

Leave a Reply

