Knowing “when it’s time.”

I am very emotional today.
One of our dogs, who went blind just over a year ago, had a seizure the other night. It wasn’t very long, about 6-8 seconds but unmistakably a seizure.
We’ve suspected all along that there might be some kind of neurological problem.
The vets gave the diagnosis of SARDS (Sudden unexplained blindness basically) and offered to do a brain scan which would cost a hefty sum, other tests for Cushings, more hefty sums, but considering her age we decided to take a wait and see approach.
She adapted to being blind really well. Being blind is no reason to have your dog put down, most of them cope extremely well and can live long and happy lives if no other disease conditions are present.

Well, it’s not looking so good now for our dog.
Today she is unsteady on her feet and just looks “not right”. She’s also been turning in circles recently and looking very disoriented. But this seems to come and go.
My gut is telling me that very soon we will have to make the decision. I was almost at that point this morning, crying as I watched her walking very slowly, not seeming to know what she was doing.
I gave her a bath, fussed over her a bit and temporarily she seemed to perk up slightly.
We will take her to the vet this afternoon and see what they say.
It’s hard, do we subject her to a battering of blood tests, give her medicines that may perk her up for a while?
Will these seizures continue?
Most importantly, is she in pain?

I cannot stand to see anything, human or animal, suffer.
I have no problem with euthanasia, it is the kindest thing. I wish people could be allowed that mercy too.
It’s just the question of knowing WHEN it’s time, and then dealing with the grief.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in animal behaviour, Pets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Knowing “when it’s time.”

  1. I agree with your view on euthanasia, but it is difficult to know wheher or not your dog may be in pain. Glad to read of your support and strength for the dog, either way it’s probably more effective than any medicine.

    Best wishes.

  2. I am so sorry Trace. It is the hardest decision to make. Our girl was 16, she wasn’t steady on her feet for a few days and though eating and seeming okay apart from her bowels giving way, July the 14th arrived – that morning she couldn’t stand properly. I couldn’t stand watching her, I phoned the Vet and we made the appointment for 4 that afternoon. She stayed on the couch with us for the day, us hugging and talking to her. When the time came I screamed am I doing the right thing …someone tell me. There were no answers – only what I felt in my heart and my gut. Holding her as she was put to sleep… I can’t begin to describe the pain or how we felt afterwards. She is sleeping now in my kitchen on the dresser – I have a tattoo of her name (my first and last).
    Be strong and know that if time is nigh…it is.
    Thoughts are with you. xxx

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thanks Jen, oh I know it’s just the most horrible thing you ever have to go through isn’t it. Sorry to hear you have been there too. 😦
      But it’s the kindest thing. I know it is.

      Our dog, Taya, had another fit just before we took her to the vet, but brightened up again.
      Our suspicions are pretty much what the vet suspects. She most likely has a brain tumour. They did bloods and her liver is fine. After ruling that out the vet said really there’s nothing we can do. A brain scan would cost $2000, and the liklihood of it being something treatable is poor.
      I asked how long she might have left and she said probably only a few weeks and they don’t just die on their own. They usually have to be put down.
      So, we’ll just spend some time with her until the point where we feel she’s had enough.
      It’s hard because she keeps brightening up and the tail wags and she seems herself, but then….Oh…it’s just difficult to know.
      But I WILL know….they let you know and today I didn’t feel that yet.

      • Darling stay strong. No our Vet said we could give her medication that will help..but it’s a matter of time. I knew that it wasn’t right and made the call. It was a day I shall never – ever forget. It’s only because we want them with us especially when they wag their tail or seem happy – Tarsha did that too, but then when I looked into her eyes and saw her body language ..it was almost please let me go. You will know in your heart and I wish you courage and warmest thoughts when you come to the decision. xxx

      • desertrose7 says:

        I know, I’ve seen the “look” in their eyes before. It’s harder though with Taya because she’s blind, but still you can sense their energy somehow and they let you know.
        Thank you.

  3. You have my sympathy. Dogs give us so much love that when they fall badly ill it is hard to say goodbye.; At the very least you can say she had a good home and was loved. You never know, she might get better but it’s very difficult I know.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thank you. I’m having a hard time tonight. Having a glass or two of wine here because I just know my mind will not be quiet tonight.
      It’s just the whole “playing God” thing that is hard to come to terms with.
      And their trust in you.

  4. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    OH Darling I am SOOO sorry about your puppy. Poor thing. I hope all works out at the vet. Your doing the best for her, remember that. I would want the same treatment.

Leave a Reply

