Sleep, book pillows and an experiment in stripes.

Having a bit of a slow paced day here, just muddling around doing bits and pieces.

It’s been on my mind for quite some time now to make some sort of “thing” to prop my book up when I read at night. (I’ll come back to this.)

See, I’m trying really hard to fix my sleeping problems.
The first thing I did was to move out of OUR room into the spare room because hubby’s snoring has just gotten completely out of control.
I mean, it’s just not good for a marriage to consistently feel like PUNCHING your dear other half. (and I didn’t just feel like it, I actually WAS punching him.)
He HAS gone and seen the doctor and he HAS had a sleep study done (yay!) but we won’t know the results for another two weeks and then if he has to get some sort of sleep apnoea machine, well….it could take some time to get HIM sorted out.
Whatever the case he’s done the right thing because snoring and stopping breathing while you are asleep DOES affect your health (hello – breathing equals life), along with the sanity of your partner.
So as much as it feels kinda weird and not quite “right” not sleeping with my husband I really have no choice. My own health is suffering through lack of sleep.

I’ve always had the racing mind thing at night. “Washing machine head” – stuck on spin cycle.
To combat that I’ve had years of falling asleep with the TV on because it was the only thing that distracted my mind enough.
I know it’s a TERRIBLE habit. Really not conducive for restful sleep, but it helped with the snoring hubby too. I’d just turn the volume UP!

So I’m in the spare room now, no TV…and each night I am reading.
Ahh, reading, how I have missed it!
Hubby always complained with me having the lamp on, and before I got glasses, well….I just couldn’t SEE without holding the book between my toes!

I am SO enjoying reading again….AND it makes me tired. My mind gets busy with the mental movie going on in my brain so when I do finally put the book down and turn off the lamp I have somewhere to GO with my thoughts -to the story.
The room is quiet, and dark and before you know it….much faster than before, I am asleep.

We won’t mention the funny fluttering sensations that immediately WAKE ME UP, as soon as I slip into that blissful place of sleep….nor will we mention the night sweats/hot flushes that are happening at least six or seven times a NIGHT ever since the doctor (who I am no longer seeing!) put me on HRT, then abruptly took me off it recently because he’d finally figured out it was not a female hormone problem, but a THYROID hormone problem.
And we won’t mention the most recent lovely addition of bouts of palpitations which have been happening at least twice a night, again, pulling me violently from la la land. I suspect that now I am going HYPER, considering that HRT can decrease the effects of thyroxine. (Something my EX doctor failed to warn me about.)
Throw into the mix the restless legs too….woops, almost forgot about them!

I should be a complete basket case huh?
It’s akin to Chinese water torture.
All your body wants is REST.
Ok, I won’t whinge too much. It is what it is and I’m just trying to make the best of it. (This WILL pass!)

So, back to the reading…
I always lie on my side to read. It’s just “my position”. But it’s awkward and in the past I used my snoring husbands back along with a small pillow to prop my book against. (Hey he didn’t know….he was asleep!)
Sometimes your hands get tired holding the book up, especially hard cover books.
I’ve been using three scatter cushions to make a triangle in which to lean my book, but sometimes they slip out of place….and then to turn over it’s a hassle repositioning all three cushions “just right”.
So today I made my OWN special “reading pillow”.
It’s like a mini boomerang pillow, but with two storeys.
Perfect for my needs!

book pillow

Here’s what it looks like…
Just a larger curved pillow with a smaller one stitched on top of the other.
Hey, it’s nothing fancy and not something I’d display proudly on my bed or anything but it’s FUNCTIONAL.
The true test will come tonight when I actually use it. I think it will do nicely though.

book pillow 2

As well as that, today I sewed a new throw cover for a lounge that my cat keeps sleeping on, leaving all his fur on. This way I can just throw the cover in the wash….but that’s all a bit boring so I won’t show you that.

I also made myself a top from some cheap fabric I picked up recently. $3 a metre. Who can complain!
Ok, so stripes have never been my thing.
I’ve always said, only zebras should wear ’em….or maybe sailors, and perhaps escaped prisoners.
But women? In stripes?
Maybe if you’re stick thin.
Heck, stripes just create an optical illusion and make you look bigger!

So…I don’t know what possessed me to buy stripy fabric. Maybe the $3 a metre thing.
It occurred to me that MAYBE if I turned the fabric round and had the stripes going at a diagonal that “perhaps” this could be more flattering?
A little more “interesting” at least?
I think it still makes me look bigger than something plain, but oh hell…here I’ve been dancing between a size ten and a size fourteen for the past two years (another lovely thyroid gift) so really, I am beyond caring anymore about my weight. It’s outta my control!
Anyway, so this was my experiment in stripes.  It’s a bit eighties isn’t it,  lol!  It looks very hot pink in the pic but really it’s a kind of pinkish red and deep grey stripe. (Maybe I’ll just wear it round the house….I’m still not sure about the stripes.)
I hope you don’t feel the need to turn your computer sidewards….Or sing a Boy George song.

batwing stripes

I’m getting really good at these batwing tops. SO easy to make, and I LOVE them.
The weather is getting warmer and I just love that extra breeze under my wings.

I’ve got six metres of plain white thin T, shirt fabric now that I’m not sure what I’m going to do with. (Ok so I love a bargain too – it was also $3 a metre…..Do you know how much spotlight charges for T-shirt material? It’s criminal!)
Anyway, I’ll think on that a bit more because white is not really my colour.
It would need something on the front of the shirt (hint hint dear darling amazing at graphic design daughter!)

Well…at least I tried something creative today!   Tomorrow candle pouring beckons.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Fashion, Life, sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sleep, book pillows and an experiment in stripes.

  1. My lordy you certainly filled in your day, you know that they have bed book reading pillows you can buy don’t you? ..hmm ssh ok yours is better as it’s bigger. I feel your pain about the snoring though Mr. S grunts groans for a short while and usually nods off, he occasionally gets the apnoea thing and a punch get’s him out of it. Washing machine head so aptly named – bloody awful isn’t it. Again I can relate. The top with the stripes – hmm a touch 80’s but what the hell we should be able to wear what we want and the bat sleeves are airing! You are one very creative lady I’ll give you that – I tried sewing and made a few dresses for my girls when they were young and one for myself…then gave up – so kudos to you madam!! Loved your busy ramble. 🙂 x

    • desertrose7 says:

      Yes, I know about the pillows 🙂 I was googling them but I thought, well, I’ve got loads of scrap material and a sewing machine….I’ll just make my own! I keep looking at the top and I keep seeing 80’s too. lol! It’s similar to a top I wore in a video I made called I’m an 80’s girl 🙂 I think I might just wear it round the house on days I feel particularly nostalgic. Thanks for reading the ramble!

  2. utesmile says:

    That stripey t-shirt looks lovely. youare good at making those things, probably you should sell them too!

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thanks! You can’t make money these days selling clothes. It’s a sad fact but all those overseas sweat shops where people are working for a pittance….well, people just won’t pay any more than bargain prices and to buy fabric costs an arm and a leg. Anyway….I’m a bit of a dodgy sew-er to be honest, lol!

  3. Ralph says:

    I am impressed that you had a problem, thought about it and solved it yourself. Mind you, you missed out on the automatic page turner Tracy by positioning your book against your husband in such a way that his snoring turns the pages for you 😉 Love the top by the way. Ralph xox 😀

    • desertrose7 says:

      I can see that….the exhale of breath (the part in cartoons where they whistle) and the page turning.
      Why didn’t I think of that?
      A more likely scenario is me using the book as a deadly weapon when I lose the plot.
      Why is snoring such a horrendous sound?

      • Ralph says:

        One of my cats snores and another sounds like she’s chuckling. If I had a wife ….. dream on Ralph !! ….. who snores, it would be an orchestra at night 😉

  4. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    Look at that SUPER SPECIAL sleek COOL GNARLY fancysmancy READING PILLOW!!!! I used to love it when my hubby snored because I would let them rip with out consequence of embarrassment! YES it’s a gross over share but it’s the TRUTH! I could get up pluck hairs and groom in quiet! But more than anything you are ABSOLUTELY right you have to sort it out for his health! It will be back to blaming the poor dog!

    • desertrose7 says:

      Jasmine! You’ve always struck me as being so lady like. You mean you actually FART?

      lolol!
      (I love offending my husbands sensibilities by demonstrating that yes….sometimes women DO have gas! No shame here! Besides, it’s payback.)

      • I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

        OH I hide it sneak off to relieve my self! If he comes round I’ll yell and tell him to stay away. I mean it’s the boy I like. I can’t fart in front of the boy I like!

      • desertrose7 says:

        I can hear a song in that!

        “I cant faaaaaart….in font of the boy I Liiiiiiike!”

      • I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

        It’s a country song !
        I think we could do it justice!

      • desertrose7 says:

        How’s this for a start?

        Y’all know I’m a lady
        I act so lady like
        I mind my P’s and Q’s you see.
        I am the cultured type

        But sometimes when I’m all alone
        I’m prone to naughty deeds
        Some things I’d never ever do
        If my beloved were with me

        I lift my leg and force one out
        And the covers all a fluff.
        I take delight in trumpeting
        Oh lord it cracks me up!
        I find my tunes hilarious
        Such abandon is pure joy
        For there’s one thing I just cannot do..
        I can’t Faaaaart…n’ front of mah boy.

Leave a Reply

