Going coconuts!

Coconut oil

Just lately I have been reading a LOT about Virgin coconut oil and all it’s amazing health benefits.
I’m a little skeptical to be honest.
The idea of eating spoonfuls of the stuff for “weight loss” just doesn’t seem to make sense to me.
For a start coconut oil, milk, cream all taste so damn GOOD….and in my experience anything that tastes so damn GOOD is usually not the stuff that’s going to make you lose weight.
It’s a saturated fat so how can it make you lose weight AND supposedly lower cholesterol?
Anyway, that’s for the experts to argue about.
I’m not planning on eating my coconut oil.
Of course not.

At present I am experimenting with it for my very dry and brittle hair.
Oh if you could smell me now you would WANT to eat me!
I smell just like a tropical island!
Delicious.

After I have rinsed all this out of my hair I’ll let you know if it’s indeed worked, as it’s reported to….being this amazing thing for HAIR!

But I’ll tell you something that I know already and am sure of, for me anyway.
I have dry skin, especially my hands.
After rubbing the oil through my hair I rubbed the rest on my hands and arms and I must tell you OOOHHHH it feels SO good!
My skin feels so soft and so moisturized.
Other moisturisers ( and I’ve tried them all…even straight olive oil!) all seem to just soak in and “disappear” after the first five minutes or so, with the exception of olive oil which makes you feel like you should roll yourself in flour and go get deep fried! No…you shouldn’t really deep fry with olive oil, but that sounded better than “go and frolic in a bed of lettuce leaves.”

Now this….the coconut oil feels different.
A little bit goes a long way….and it actually feels like it’s making a LOT of difference….more nourishing or something.
It’s reported to be excellent for skin, and so far, well, I’d have to say that I’m liking it a lot and it SMELLS so good!

So, if you have really dry skin, why not give it a go!
I searched all the supermarkets and could not find it. Health stores probably have it, but those places are rip off merchants!
So I found mine in a little store that stocks a lot of pacific island foods, Indian and Asian food products.
For only $9 I reckon this jar is going to last me a LONG time! Far cheaper than moisturisers, and hopefully hair treatments too.

And….if I want to….I can cook with it too!

Love it!

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Australia, cooking, Diet, Food, health and well being, Natural remedies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Going coconuts!

  1. Excellent – I bought a bottle of Apple Cider Vinegar with the mother and use it on my age spot – slight difference so far. Now I shall be trying the coconut as a moisturiser – just the smell takes you to a tropical island 🙂 Keep coming up with the tips Trace 🙂

    • desertrose7 says:

      Good for you! The Apple cider vinegar is also excellent for aiding digestion. I take it regularly!
      The coconut helped my hair – feels a bit softer if used as a treatment before shampooing but it’s too greasy to use (for me) as a kind of leave in thing…..even if used sparingly.

  2. My skins is dry from the dry air and cold of winter. might need to try this!

  3. Hi,
    Theresa from the muse here…I have Organic Coconut Oil by Spectrum…product of the Philippines…..it has no aroma at all..
    It says place jar in warm water to liquefy..then use on skin and hair…
    I bought mine because I read that it will get rid of spiders…and it worked…no spiders at all and I only put in on once..just lightly put it on window sills, doorways etc..
    But as I said mine has no aroma at all…
    I t also says on my jar for tender moist cake or stir fry…

    I bought mine at our local grocery chain …for about $10.00
    a 14 oz jar…
    They still have it as I noticed it last week…
    Great to see you are writing up a storm…
    Take care
    Theresa

    • desertrose7 says:

      Really? That’s amazing. Maybe they just don’t like to walk on it…kind of like that old tip to keep ants away draw a line of chalk?
      Mine has a smell….really delicious and it’s the extra virgin coconut oil. Apparently from the green coconuts? It tastes horrible though. I have been trying to eat it, even though I said I wouldn’t go that far, but I’ve been reading of more and more of it’s health benefits. You can buy it online here cheaper than in the stores so I might do that from now on. Looks like it can be pretty handy in many ways! 🙂

Leave a Reply

