The trouble with melons. (Tales from the dark side.)

Watermelons

She’d often wondered what it would feel like…the sensation, the sound, to stick a knife into somebody.
Really stick it in good.
Would it be like stabbing a watermelon?
Or more like a pumpkin? No, the skin would be too hard.
What about the bones….
Just how much resistance does flesh have anyway?

The trouble with melons is that they don’t have bones.

A knife is most often a woman’s choice of weapon. She wondered if most people knew that.
It’s more personal than a gun, and just as effective, if used appropriately.
Straight through the eye perhaps?
That is what she’d pondered last night as she stood above him, while he slept.
How could he just lie there…..sleeping like that!
It made her furious.
That he should sleep, could sleep, while she paced in her misery, her agony.

She’d even raised her hand, the knife glinting in the light from the streetlamp outside….raised it, poised, ready to strike.
It felt satisfying, somehow to do this. Make this gesture, pretend…
Her secret….HER secret, this time.
Something HE did not know, would never know.
That she had stood, at his bedside, with a kitchen knife raised above his head as he so ignorantly slept and had wondered what it would feel like to stick a knife into somebody, was immensely satisfying.

“You going out with Jill and the girls today?” he asked over the top of his newspaper at the breakfast table.
“Yes, it’s Thursday, we always have brunch Thursdays, you know that dear. I have errands to run this morning so I’m leaving early.”
“Good, good. Yes, I suppose it is Thursday again.”
His head disappeared once more behind the paper.

“You’re lucky you still have two good eyes left.” she said. It just came out.
“What? Eyes? Nothing wrong with my eyes….I can see perfectly well with these new glasses.” he mumbled absently.
She smiled.

“Don’t forget to fix that chair leg today. I don’t want you breaking your back if it goes….Oh and that big kitchen knife…I left it out for you to sharpen. It feels a bit blunt. Don’t forget will you…”

“The chair, and the knife…..got it. Have a nice day with your friends love. See you later. Oh…wait…what was it you wanted to talk about last night, sorry, I know I’ve been busy lately.”

“It’s ok.” she said.
“It can wait.”

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Fiction, Marriage, very dark stories, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The trouble with melons. (Tales from the dark side.)

  1. Ralph says:

    A scary woman !!

  2. How dark are you right now!? I would think about putting something out there in the ‘Novel world’. You should also enter some of the challenges on WP – VisDare – Contributor picture it and write etc..photo prompts – I think you would do very well,. Enjoyed this dark side of you- well written.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Truth is I’ve always had a very dark side 😉 creatively speaking of course!
      Yeah, I had a look after I read your last photo prompt piece and followed it back to what I “think” was where it all starts? I got a bit confused though how all that works… I’ve been seeing some really amazing pictures on that morgue files site (weird name for free photo’s – most of them are beautiful and scenic.) Maybe I’ll find one and have a go one of these days. Can’t hurt to fire up the imagination can it 🙂 I think I often stick to the safety of writing what I know….real experiences, you know…it feels a bit daring to jump into the world of fiction, but more of this could be fun.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Oh and thanks 🙂

  3. Miriam E. says:

    haha so creepy and oh so good…

Leave a Reply

