“Say ahhhhh. ”

I can’t find a good picture of a tongue. They’re all gross. After having googled images of tongues I’m not pretty sure that I don’t even want my OWN in my mouth.
That’s an understatement really.
The last thing I want in my mouth at the moment is my own tongue!
All will be revealed in a moment.

Where have I been for more than a week? Cat’s got my tongue you been thinking?
Not quite, but SOMETHING has got my tongue.
I have promised myself this will not be a whiney, oh woe is me post!
Nope! I swear I will be upbeat, and witty and funny! (I’m lying)
Because having a really really SORE BURNING TONGUE is pure hysteria.
See me laughing like a maniac here?

Almost….from going INSANE!

Oh the things that have been on MY tongue this week.

Let’s see…
Turmeric and honey…..(Turmeric has anti inflammatory properties you see and honey is a natural antibacterial)
Raw cabbage…..chewed up in my mouth. Yep. Crazy sounding?
Well, again, cabbage has anti inflammatory properties (amazing healing vegetable!)
Milk.
Warm tea.
Ice.
Apple cider vinegar (youch you say? Well….yes, but diluted is tolerable.)
Apple cider vinegar is another one of those wonder things. Good for SO many things. Google it!
I’ve been eating bowlfuls of cabbage/garlic and onion soup. All pureed up. Quite tasty (Honestly!)
I have no idea how I smell though.
Probably ghastly.

Ok, so then I started googling possibilities because all these natural remedies weren’t doing a thing.
Kept coming up with ORAL THRUSH. Bleh!
Ok, well…..I’m willing to give it a go….ANYTHING to stop the burning!

I even, as an additional measure went into the chemist and asked for a bottle of acidophilus tablets.
Could not believe that the WOMEN working in there did not even know what acidophilus tablets were FOR.
“What are they for?” they asked…..the whole room. Chemist is FULL of people…men and women….
“FOR THRUSH…..VAGINAL THRUSH AND THRUSH IN THE MOUTH THRUSH!”

Ok, so I didn’t quite say it like that but I did say, quite unabashed….”For THRUSH!”
(They had the hide to look a little bit embarrassed.)

My God! They didn’t even KNOW that?
See….see how my faith in the medical world is constantly being shaken?

The stuff for your mouth turned out to be torturous. Made me feel nauseous and KILLED my tongue….but I took the entire course.
Made not ONE bit of difference! I knew it wouldn’t. I know what oral thrush looks like…I was a nurse and I have had four babies!

Then, after a week of this I went to the doctor.
Why didn’t I just go to the doctor in the first place.
I’ll tell you why….
Because doctors SUCK.
I have been seeing doctors for five years and all for NOTHING. Biggest waste of time and money!

So he looked in my mouth.
As they do…
Doctors always look at your tongue, have you noticed that? “Say ahhhhhh.”
That’s because….I’ll tell you a secret…. a lot can be told about your state of health by the state of your TONGUE.
*I* know this!

“Your tongue is very inflamed.”
(Well DUH…..I KNOW this. YOUR job is to tell me WHY, and FiX it!)
“Come back and see me next week.”
What?
Why?
So you can look and tell me again that I have a very very sore tongue!

Same story every time.
No clue.

I tried to tell him about “burning mouth syndrome”…..Yeah, read about it online….years ago – the LAST time this happened to me.

“Oh, don’t go reading all that stuff online!” says the doctor.
“We’ll look for the most common causes first.”
Like….oral thrush.

Sheesh.
Why don’t doctors LISTEN!
I’m onto it Doc! Been there, done that!
Yeah yeah….don’t look for Zebra’s first….horses are WAY more common.
I get it!
I get that the internet is full of crazy zebras.
I am a logical person….You don’t think I examined all the HORSES first?

Anyway, so I’m really on the brink of going completely insane here.
I have resorted to pain killers, numbing mouth wash and probably the worst possible thing….but what the HELL….alcohol.

Not just my tongue, but the inside of my lips….like I’ve been burned.
My tongue feels smooth, like it has lost all the little papillae….It hasn’t though.
Can’t taste much, can’t concentrate much….it hurts to talk….
But I’m tired of being MISERABLE!
I’m just going to pretend this isn’t happening…

“It’s …..not…..happening…….!!!!!”

“This is not my tongue in my mouth! ……this is not my beautiful house…..this is not my beautiful wife….Letting the days go by….water flowing underground!” (Talking heads you’re in MY head again!”

Anyway…this too shall pass.
I know it will.
I will be much happier and saner (and funnier)…soon.

I’ll go back to the doctors on Tuesday.
Perhaps I should put in a request for a tongue transplant.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Doctors, embarrassing, health and well being, Life, life experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Say ahhhhh. ”

  1. Sounds painful 😦 and rather annoying…so no antibiotics to cure this? Hope your tongue is better soon! Laughed at the Talking heads reference! πŸ™‚ See you still are funny.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Oh look, there is a pic of you! Nice to “see” you πŸ™‚
      Yes, very annoying. I don’t think there is any infection as such to treat with antibiotics. My tongue looks pretty much ok, except it’s a bit red and inflamed looking.
      Maybe I need to see a chinese doctor. They’re big on tongue gazing.
      While they’re at it perhaps they can look into my eyes too…..I know they take that seriously too. My eyes are constantly dry and bloodshot.
      Honestly, I’ve pretty much given up on western medicine.

  2. Dan says:

    Well, I was beginning to worry and hoping that perhaps you were busy with Cubase. bleh!!!! πŸ˜‰

    Your remedy list sounded fine until you got to the “milk”, especially when considering it in combination with the other stuff?
    The Italian formula for keeping the bad spirits away was to put a necklace of garlic around ones neck, but it sounds like you’ve vastly improved on that one. πŸ˜†

    I know it doesn’t help to say you’re not alone, but my wife has been going through practically the same scenario, trying to find out from the doctor’s what her problem(s) are, that is.
    It seems that PD is the least of her worries right now. The RLS is a culprit as well as the newly acquired “bad taste” syndrome (Just made up the name of that disease).
    For close to the last 4 months she has been seeking the diagnostic abilities of many doctors from her GP, to an Otolaryngologist, to a Gastroenterologist, to a Neurologist and no one can tell her what is causing her to say that water tastes bitter and that her cereal (plain Cherrioes: oats) tastes like handfuls of sugar.
    And throughout this time her mouth is always full of mucus. She’s always has a tissue to her mouth. We don’t go out to eat because either she can’t sit down for more than a couple of minutes due to the RLS or she is embarrassed by having to hold a tissue to her mouth constantly.
    So the doctor’s have recommended that she go to the University of South Florida because it appears that’s where they have a better success rate of finding out causes to these difficult problems.
    I’ve suggested going to the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, but she doesn’t want to make the trip there. (yet).

    Her dentist told her she had “dry mouth”. She is using a mouthwash called Biotene which seems to be helping a bit. Perhaps you should try something like that?

    But my faith in doctors has gone down considerably in the past few years as well.
    If you want something done you have to do it yourself, including being your own best diagnostician.

    Yeah, I resort to alcohol at times as well. But about a half hour later I regret it because it really doesn’t help, does it?

    “Perhaps I should put in a request for a tongue transplant.” 😯
    Don’t give those “doctors” any ideas.

    You already are “…happier and saner (and funnier)…”. See, we already are happier.
    Keep helping make others smile, that’s your job. πŸ˜‰

    P.S. Hey, if you go to a Chinese doctor why don’t you try an acupuncturist. 😯
    What’s that, you think I just made that up?
    Trying googling “Tongue Acupuncture”.
    Just when you think you’ve seen it all. πŸ˜†

    Hope you’re better. 😦
    Peace. πŸ™‚

    • desertrose7 says:

      Your poor wife. I feel for her. I have dry mouth. There is no doubt in my mind it is that which has caused this burning tongue thing. I too taste a bitter taste and believe it or not, water just makes me thirstier.
      I’m experimenting with tissue salts and sea salt. I’ll try anything to get some relief.
      Has she been tested for sjogrens? Thyroid disorders. Apparently some thyroid conditions are incredibly difficult to diagnose accurately because levels fluctuate so much.
      Does she take magnesium for the RLS ?
      Dry mouth and RLS can also be extremely common during perimenopause and menopause.
      I hope she finds some relief.
      Last night I chewed on some mint leaves. In chinese medicine there are cooling and heating foods… mint is a cooling food, good for inflammation too. It helped. didn’t cure it but it helped. Today I am drinking a concoction of mint, honey and green tea.

      • Dan says:

        About the only thing she drinks is water. The only other liquid would be
        a 1% lactose free milk with her cereal in the mornings and occasionally a warm milk before she goes to bed.
        Don’t know if she’s been tested for sjogrens but they’ve checked all of her other major organs and found nothing unusual.
        Yep, she takes magnesium daily for the RLS. But she’s in a catch-22 situation because she takes Stalevo for the Parkinson’s, which stimulate the nerve endings and naturally this initiates the RLS. Poor sod.
        That concoction of mint, honey and tea reminded me of my high school best friends mom who used to brew fresh tea and mix in some honey and fresh mint leaves from her garden and serve it chilled as ice tea.
        What a refreshing drink that was on a hot summer’s day.

        Have you heard of “The Virgin Diet”? http://www.amazon.com/The-Virgin-Diet-Foods-Pounds/dp/0373892713
        I know, too late for all of us πŸ˜‰ , but it is something I am going to try, one, because i need to lose weight and feel better and
        two, because i think it will help out my wife as well, if I can convince her it is worth trying.
        She can be a real Scouser some times, 😑
        Anyway, this diet has done wonders for folks with autoimmune problems as well.
        It’s based on the fact that today’s processed foods cause an intolerance in our systems and that is why we gain weight.
        During the initial stage (3 weeks) one is supposed to avoid the following 7 foods:
        Soy, Corn, Gluten, Dairy, Sugar and artificial sweeteners, Eggs, Peanuts
        During the next phase, one is supposed to re-introduce the foods to isolate the ones that cause your intolerance and allow you to gain weight.
        The final phase is maintenance, knowing which foods your body can tolerate and which it can’t.
        My gut (pardon the pun) tells me this makes sense.

        It is going to be difficult because just about every food in your local supermarket is chock full of the list-of-7.
        About the only supermarket (chain) in the States where you can buy allowable foods is Whole Foods. The closest one to us is around 20 miles away, but for three weeks, I will make the sacrifice.

        I will let you know how I (or we) get on. Perhaps it can help you out as well. πŸ™‚

      • desertrose7 says:

        I did a quick google of Stalevo and some of the side effects is changes to taste, thirst, dry mouth etc.. Also if it can stimulate nerves to affect the legs it makes sense that perhaps it can stimulate nerves in the tongue? (Some people have deduced that it may be some kind of nerve thing causing the painful burning sensation.)
        Catch 22 for your wife 😦 Surely there are alternative medications with

        Dan, I totally believe the foods we are eating are making us sick. There are far too many artificial additives to what we consume.
        Even raw foods are becoming a bit dubious….strawberries the size of apples, apples the size of grapefruit…..fruits that don’t even TASTE how they are supposed to!
        It makes you wonder just how much they are meddling, from the seeds up!

        My daughter has been diagnosed with seronegative arthritis, at 17. Basically, to me, it means “we don’t know why you have” arthritis.
        Sorry, that’s not good enough!
        We are trying an elimination diet with her too…..very similar to the one you have described.

      • Dan says:

        Thanks for googling about Stalevo. πŸ™‚
        She’s been on the Stalevo since she was first diagnosed with PD about 6 years ago.
        She did switch to another Rx (Carbidopa/levodopa) around the same time that the
        RLS symptoms started to appear. I think that her Neurologist felt that the C/L might have
        less of an effect on stimulating the nerves that caused the RLS.
        She’s been back on the Stalevo for around 2 years now.
        You would have thought that if any allergic reactions were going to occur they would have already done so. But any of these drugs, as I am sure you are aware, can alleviate one problem and cause two others to occur.
        It’s amazing, or should I say uncomfortable, to know that “fresh” fruits and vegetables no longer taste like they used to, isn’t it?
        All of these foods that are being modified somehow.
        Yes i agree it’s causing lots of similar problems.
        Even feed for animals that are corn based which is one reason why i need to go to this Whole Foods supermarket because they are the only ones in the area, that I’m aware of, that have grass fed meats.

        I am glad to hear that you are working with your daughter’s diet to try and alleviate her arthritic problems.
        Have you tried to eliminate dairy from her diet?
        Googling found these references:
        “(Clin Res 28:791A, 1980). In 1981, Parke described a 38-year-old mother with 11-years of progressive erosive seronegative rheumatoid arthritis who recovered from her disease, attaining full mobility, by stopping all dairy products.”
        “(Clin Ecol 2:137, 1984). In 1985, Ratner removed all dairy products from the diet of patients with seronegative rheumatoid arthritis, 7 out of 15 went into remission when switched to milk-free diets…”

        And the response from doctors is so comforting, right?
        I’m so cynical that I’d be willing to say that 75% of the problems that people go to them for is caused by diets and food intolerance and the doctors don’t want to tell their patients that all they have to do is to modify their food sources. They’d be out of business. I know that attitude is a bit extreme but it’s just another reason why we have to find these things out for ourselves. No doctor or government is going to do what we know is best for our own selves and family.
        Peace. πŸ™‚

  3. Ralph says:

    How awful for you Tracy. Big kiss (no tongues πŸ˜‰ ) Ralph xox

Leave a Reply

