The undead zone.

Giraffe_Ithala_KZN_South_Africa_Luca_Galuzzi_2004

I often think about aliens.
Not little green men aliens but a far superior species to human beings, so far from our silly little science fiction notions that we just can’t even imagine a race so different and so much more evolved than ourselves.
I believe they exist….somewhere.

I find myself wondering what they would think were they to happen upon us for sometimes our behaviour, our rituals, our human-ness is simply -weird.

Take sleep for example.
Sleep is just weird.

Human beings spend approximately 12-15 hours a day upright, walking around and then suddenly we get horizontal and pass out for anywhere between 6 – 9 hours.
That’s a hell of a long time when you think about it, lying there, supine and unconscious, acutely vulnerable.

Last night as I struggled to fall asleep I lay there envisioning all the hundreds of other human beings in my neighbourhood all lying down, unconscious.
Something we ALL do (some of us better than others) every single night at approximately the same time.

These aliens, were they to happen upon us would find this scenario perplexing.
One minute they’re up, pottering around, doing what humans do, busy busy little bee’s and then poof, just like that they drop.
Not only that we have these little rituals that we perform prior to passing out.
The aliens would mumble to each other….or perhaps just think it because maybe aliens don’t need to speak….
“Look, see, now they are taking off their outer layers, putting different layers on….Now look, the frothing of the mouth with plastic sticks…. Now watch….see, the vision fields are closing…..aaaand…poof!”

Well, that would be my husband they’re watching.
With me it would be more like….
“Why is she punching the other human while he makes snorting noises? Why is she taking so LONG to become unconscious? Oh look….now she’s going to try and be unconscious in another room….Is she having a seizure? Why are her legs twitching all over the place. Ok, this one is taking WAY to long to study….”

And where do “we” go when we sleep anyway?
It’s like being dead when you’re not really dead. All your organs still function, and yet your mind, the thinking part, the awareness part is simply not there anymore.

We dream.
Why do we dream?
This has been asked a million times.
Various theories….To declutter the mind junk, re-set the brain. Maybe it’s like some kind of charging station because if we don’t sleep the mind malfunctions. The brain cannot survive without sleep. It is as vital to our bodies as water.

Where do we GO when we dream?
Do we have a soul and does it travel, leave this physical form and fly free for a spell?

I’ve been to other countries in my dreams.
Recently I’ve been to Europe…walked down city streets, like in the here and NOW. Modern world streets.
I have BEEN there.
Before we even had notions of going to the Philippines, I had walked in Asian countries.
I saw statues in a square. Not something my mind would automatically associate with the Philippines, but when we were there and visited Intramurous, the historical part of Manila, yes, there were statues like the ones in my dreams in a square.

The best thing in a dream is to be able to fly.
I KNOW what it feels like to fly!
Mostly I fly above rolling fields and there is always the sea close by. Sometimes I fly a little ways over the ocean but I prefer to be above the land, sometimes even swooping down so low that I can see the blades of grass as I pass.

I find the worst thing about dreams is to dream that you have had….intimate encounters with people that you know. People that you would never in a million years think about in “that” way, and then if you happen to see them the next day, you feel almost embarrassed.
Like it somehow really happened!

Sometimes I am a loose woman in my dreams.

Ha!

But really, this whole business of spending 8 or so hours in the undead zone is simply, odd….don’t you think?
How vulnerable is this state?
Anything could happen and you wouldn’t know it.
Predators take advantage….burglars kidnappers, rapists, murderers.
All we have between us and them are a few walls, panes of glass….and yet every night, without thought, we get horizontal and happily….pass out.

Did you know that giraffes only sleep for between ten minutes and two hours a day?
Poor buggers.
They don’t have time to dream!
Imagine… no walking in strange jungles in other countries, no flying over the ocean, no hanky panky with other giraffe acquaintances.
But on the other hand, I bet giraffes don’t stand around complaining about how quick the time is flying by (Just look at us, in April already – where is the year going?)
No, they have all this EXTRA time on their hooves, for leaf munching.

How do giraffes sleep anyway? Standing up?
Be a bit of a pain in the neck trying to get up off the grass on all those stilts.
I understand the logic, of nature. Giraffes are ungainly awkward and vulnerable creatures. To spend eight hours a day or night sleeping would see the end of the giraffe populations and an explosion in the lion’s.
Are their brains more evolved than ours, to not need as much sleep?
To put you out of your misery with this pointless ramble I will leave you with this thought….

Are giraffes related to this alien race I am speaking of, because I am SURE aliens have far more important intergalactic things that need doing to not waste countless hours of time, in the undead zone – SLEEPING!

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in animal behaviour, Bedroom, health and well being, Humour, husbands, Life, Sleep, Weird thoughts and odd stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The undead zone.

  1. Dan says:

    I love the undead zone.
    Why? Why because I’m alive, even while I may be in a suspended state of unanimation. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Where dreams take me anywhere I want to go and I can take whomever I choose on the journey with me.
    WARNING: Careful when you’re just in your local neighborhood. ๐Ÿ˜•

    I don’t know about you, but if I lived in areas where the temperatures were below zero for a good portion of the year and I were an alien observer, I’d think those folks were fairly intelligent for covering up their tookuses to keep warm.

    And sometimes it’s nice to get horizontal and relax. What’s wrong with that? Oh, you meant sleeping. ๐Ÿ˜• ๐Ÿ˜ณ

    Yeah, I don’t know. If those aliens had to travel long distances across the galaxies to get here, even in a super human form, they probably were cocooning it for months, years, maybe even for centuries at a time. Who knows?

    “… Ok, this one is taking WAY to long to studyโ€ฆ.โ€ Love it. They always take the fringe ones first. Didn’t you know that? ๐Ÿ˜›

    “… to dream that you have hadโ€ฆ.intimate encounters with people that you know.” ๐Ÿ˜ฏ
    Oh, you mean like Close Encounters of the Worst Kind? ๐Ÿ˜† I guess I’m lucky in that I’ve never had dreams like that.

    “Sometimes I am a loose woman in my dreams.” I think it’s safe to say that if you’re going to be loose it’s best done in the dream state, yes? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Please excuse me, I think I’m going to go off and dream.

    And certainly not about Giraffes. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • desertrose7 says:

      I love the undead zone too….just not the getting there part. I do enjoy dreaming……It’s not surprising that with the stuff that goes through my mind on a conscious level, that the unconscious stuff is VERY wacky.

      • Dan says:

        well then here’s a wacky recipe for you.
        http://manhattantransfer.net/discography/extensions/
        You can listen to the full songs from this fabulous LP on their website.
        Wacky Dust and Coo Coo U are fun songs.
        The last band that I played in was called Twilight Zone and we would play that theme song as our break tune.
        Another tune we did which I loved playing was The Shaker Song.
        As one who loves harmonization and a fellow twilight zoner ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope this cheers you up.

        Oh, and I am confident that sweet realities are coming your way soon. Enjoy the journey. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Peace.

      • desertrose7 says:

        Coo coo u was interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ralph says:

    Another fun post to read. Thank you for brightening up my day ๐Ÿ˜€ Time for me to wake up now ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Miriam E. says:

    very thought-provoking, Tracy – i love it. thank you.

Leave a Reply

