Weird thoughts and odd stuff.

Deer2

Yesterday morning I woke up with three words echoing round in my head.

Pernalicious, purnalooloo and pentacle.

Ok, so only one of those is a real word. Pentacle. The pentacle in tarot cards represents manifestation…usually to do with money or business. The others, the closest I can guess is Pernicious, which means harmful and Purnululu, which is  a national park in Western Australia.

Harmful ….Western Australia….something will or has manifested itself.

Or maybe it’s just rubbish….the excess trash in the garbage can of my head.

Do you ever get intrusive thoughts? Words that won’t leave you alone?

For years the word Monkey Mia kept jabbing me in the brain.  I had to google it in the end and found out it is a place in Western Australia where you can swim with dolphins. This was long before we actually WENT to Western Australia to live for three years, and you know what, we never did go to Monkey Mia…to swim with dolphins.  So the relevance of that may indeed be nothing at all.

I also had a name that kept popping into my head as a teenager – Sally Bowman….  Ok, so if you google that name it turns out she was a teenager murdered in London in 2005.  But I’m sure there are millions of Sally Bowmans.

Just mind junk.

Sometimes thoughts just end up being intrusive annoyances.

Like for example, one day as I was standing chopping vegetables for dinner I suddenly thought of an ex …well he wasn’t even a boyfriend….He was a boy who liked me, that I met when I was working at a hairdressing salon when I was sixteen.  He played guitar, and it was at that point I wanted to be in a band.

You see, I couldn’t bring myself to shun this poor boys affections, so I lied and told him I was a lesbian.

Then I married his best friend.

The thing is, is that something happened in my head that day and for years every time I’d stand and chop vegetables, I’d think of this guy.  Not because I had any reason to….it’s just that my brain made that connection….somehow.  I had to retrain my brain to think of something else, because it was so stupid and annoying.

I know I’m not the only one with a weird mind.
My husband confessed that for a time there every time he’d go to pee, he’d stand there and the song “Home on the range” would come into his head.  In fact he may have even whistled it as he pee’d.

“Home…..home on the range…..where the deer and the antelope play….”

Weird hey.
I’ll know if he reads my blog because he’ll either curse me for reminding him, or at some point today I’ll here an unintended whistled…..”Where seldom is heard….a discouraging word……and the skies are not cloudy all day….”

Life is odd like that.

EDIT – I just asked my husband if he’d read todays blog, which he had.

“So have you been whistling THE tune then?”

“I’ve never STOPPED whistling it.” he says.

I walked away into the kitchen then suddenly had a vision of a bunch of guys walking into a public rest room….all standing there at the trough, you know…ready…when in unison they all begin whistling…”Home home on the range…..”

Lol!  Almost choked on my plum I did.

Wanna hear something really weird?

I sat yesterday trying to write a song. No words would come….so I started making up my own language. I confess, I do this a lot.
Does it matter though?
Music is a vibration that is interpreted by emotions…Music can inspire feelings of calmness, tension, passion or if you listen to this ….just a feeling of “My God this woman who’s blog I’m reading is a strange one!”

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Life, Marriage, memories, Music, songwriting, Weird thoughts and odd stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weird thoughts and odd stuff.

  1. Firstly what a voice! Who else is singing with you? I really liked this – yes the words made no sense, but the rhythm of the words and music were great. As I listened it sounded like you were saying” not singing anymore”. Now that is MY brain being weird and what I heard. Yes I have words and the like go through my head, the new Pink Song Just give me a reason, was a constant in my head the other night for 2 hours, I had to take a sleeping tab to knock myself out and the words! 🙂

  2. desertrose7 says:

    It’s all me….about 21 tracks of all the various layers of vocals. Funny that you should say what you heard, because that’s sometimes how I start a song. I just sing rubbish, and then listen and sometimes the words take shape. I call that phenomena the songwriting Gods speaking in tongues to me 🙂 I love Pink! Hate though when things get STUCK in your head like that, especially songs.

  3. I don’t know if there is a word for it but this is one of those languages(?) or songs that just morphs into what the mind really wants to define as actual words even if it knows better. I liked it !

  4. Dan says:

    What, more normalcy from you? 😉
    It could just be rubbish, but then again maybe it’s some very weird synaptical solutions between your cells.
    Probably watching too much captain kangaroo. So stop countin’ them flowers on the wall, hey?

    Since you brought it up, thanks so very much, i get an occasional intrusive thought.
    I did not like watching the movie “The Fly”, the original. But now when I hear the term “help me” it is always in Italian, “aiutami”!!! “aiutami”!!! So what is that supposed to mean Sherlock? 😡

    Let me get this straight.
    You’re chopping vegetables and you suddenly remember this guitar guy who had the hots for you but you couldn’t tell him that you just wanted to be friends so you told him you were a lesbian and then you went ahead and married his best friend? 😯
    Hope he’s not still friends with you husband.
    He’s probably gone off to become a priest in some parish in Antarctica. 😕

    Oh that’s nice, mentioning one of your husband’s idiosyncrasies.
    I’ll bet he loved Blazing Saddles. So did I. 😎

    My dear, what ever you do to create your songs, please continue to be as weird as possible.
    The song gods wouldn’t have it any other way. 😀

    “… I sat yesterday trying to write a song. No words would come…”
    I’ve had the lyrics of a song finished for a while now and can’t come up with the music.
    Maybe I should start with the music from now on.
    Do you have any remedies for this problem doctor D.?

    If anyone who is reading your blog doesn’t know by now that you are a strange one, well then, it’s far too late.
    God help us all 😕 😉

Leave a Reply

