Family vacations from hell. (Our infamous outback disaster trip)

Outbacktrip

Today I’m reminded of the outback because a fellow Aussie blogger Baz, who obviously has a passion for traversing through the outback with his family, recently has been posting some glorious photographs of their travels.
Have a look here – http://thelandy.com/ He gets up to many adventures!

Whenever we go away I always make a video diary of our trips. Personally, I prefer video to photography,mostly because I’m better at it, but because I’m just enthralled by capturing the moving pictures rather than one off tiny slices of moments.
Most of the time I’m just looking for amazing, beautiful scenery shots that I can add to my little collection, but sometimes I get ruthless and film as many nitty gritty details of our family dynamic and interaction because I just know there will be a little mini “movie” to be made from it. (It annoys everyone that I do this. Camera’s in ones face tend to do that to people.)

Our last trip can only be described as the disaster of all trips.
We had agreed to let my teenage daughter bring a friend.
Her friend had never been camping before. Certainly not outback style.
We had promised her a blast of a time…FUN times…ADVENTURES….Awesome amazing stuff that she would remember forever!
As a complete surprise to the kids (which we kept to ourselves the whole journey, thank goodness.) we had planned a huge surprise…to head up to Queensland to the theme parks on the last leg of the journey. A kind of reward for dragging them through the nothingness for two weeks.
Unfortunately due to mother nature, and other unforeseen complications, this did not happen.

We were all ready to kill each other after this trip.
We BROKE the camper trailer….our trusty camper trailer that had been everywhere, done everything, was completely indestructible, or so we thought.
My daughter and her friend were at odds with each other. They ganged up on my son, who I must say was very patient throughout.
Everyone began to act strangely pretty soon into the trip, because of the tension and the stress.

We tried….truly we TRIED to make this “adventure” work…
But as you can see, by watching this video…
The forces were undoubtedly, against us.

I promise you, it will entertain….
We CAN look back on it and laugh, now.

Lundgren family outback disaster trip 2011 from Tracy Lundgren on Vimeo.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Australia, camping, Children, Family, husbands, Life, life experiences, Marriage, teenagers, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Family vacations from hell. (Our infamous outback disaster trip)

  1. Ralph says:

    Well done. I can recommend anyone visiting this post to watch this great family video. 😀 xox

    • desertrose7 says:

      Thanks Ralph 🙂 It truly was a dismal failure of a trip.
      I love that end scene where I catch my daughter with the wind in her lips. lol! Cracks me up every time and she hates the fact that I included it in the video. He he he!

  2. annewoodman says:

    Really nice video. ; ) Thanks for sharing your agony and the scenery. I think we can all relate to it!

  3. Adam S says:

    Wow, nice camera work, Tracy! Makes mine look pretty bad. Are all those shots yours or did you use stock footage too? The pan shots are smooth as butter. I just can’t get over the whole thing?! The narration, story, sound, music transitions…it’s flawless! I can’t remember if you said it before, but were/are you in video production?

    • desertrose7 says:

      Hi Adam. Thank you! 🙂 It’s all my footage. Wished I could have got more really spectacular footage, but we were too busy breaking things, lol!
      I just do the filming and editing stuff as a hobby. It’s a miracle that little old untechnical ME has managed to find my way around Sony Vegas. Where there’s a will there’s a way though 😉

  4. Now I have heard your voice and your hubby’s laugh, your daughters sunburn OMG poor love.

    • desertrose7 says:

      I know. 😦 She has the most fluorescent lily white skin that simply sizzles with even a tiny dose of sun. I keep telling her that its a blessing in disguise really. Less time in the sun as a teenager = less wrinkles and sun spots when she gets older.
      Hubby sounds insane doesn’t he? lol!

  5. JasmineKyleSings says:

    OMG I would have DIED!!! OMG SUN BURN TOO!!! OMG no no no! It sounds like that Carnival Cruse trip here that was stranded for like 5 days 😦

    • desertrose7 says:

      That cruise ship? Oh my…and here I am about to make plans with a friend to go on a cruise (first time for me.)

      • JasmineKyleSings says:

        Google it girl!!!! Here in the US!!! Carnival Cruse!

      • desertrose7 says:

        Unbelievable! Those poor people. Hmm….should I reconsider my trip?

      • JasmineKyleSings says:

        Heck NO!!! Just bring peanut butter and some extra food JUST IN CASE !!! LOL

      • desertrose7 says:

        I think I may have to! And a gas mask by the sound of it….porta potty?

      • JasmineKyleSings says:

        The ship was a LARGE FLOATING porta potty. And they wouldn’t dump it because they don’t want to pay for the environmental fine. Can’t loose more money they wouldn’t give a shit if there was no fine!
        Anyway hope you have a good time they will be looking to REALLY make you guys happy to make up for it! So that’s a good point right?

      • desertrose7 says:

        Probably quite true – if there were no fine… Glad they didn’t dump it though! I read that everyone will be getting a full refund and so they should!

      • JasmineKyleSings says:

        If you were on you would be begging for them to dump it LOL!!!
        During the oil spill ships were coming and dumping there oil in the gulf to save a few bucks! How totally AWESOME is that!? I wonder what those kind of people are like. You would think they would be like REALLY BIG JERKS but I bet they smile and are so sweet to your face!
        Isn’t humanity amazing?

Leave a Reply

