The world we have made.

It’s not my country, but that doesn’t matter. We are one world, one planet so when tragedy strikes it affects everyone.
There is no place for guns in society. Forget the amendment, “rights”, it’s bullshit, a law written for a different time and a different world…..
Time has moved on, things have drastically changed.
Hello! There were no semi automatic weapons back then!
What about those children’s rights?
The right to go to school and expect to come home alive.
To be here right now….to be here Christmas morning opening their presents.
What about them?

It’s not just the guns no.
It’s society as a whole.
Morals and values declining….disintegrating.
I’m not religious but I have to wonder if the loss of religious values within our cultures are contributing to this disintegration of society.
Sure there are religious nutters too, those who twist the holy words (of any book) to suit their own agenda’s, but overall…to have no faith, nothing to remind people of our connectedness and the value of adhering to basic rules like “thou shalt not kill.”
Rules that we NEED as a society.

But moreso than that, it’s all the lines we have allowed to be crossed.
The glorification of violence, everywhere! Shoved down our throats at every opportunity, along with sex. Sex and violence go hand in hand.
Movies, TV, music,video, books, THE INTERNET.
The Internet is a biggie.
A pandoras box we have opened here with the internet, and it will never ever be able to be closed. We are only at the beginning of discovering the consequences of what all this freedom of information will truly cost us.

Today, a society that is all about “me me me”.
MY rights! Stuff society as a whole!
Screw- “for the greater good of mankind”…the big picture.
No, its all about ME. I want it all and I want it now!

We’ve become so intrinsically selfish with attitudes of “I deserve!”

The media too. Glorifying these sorts of horrific crimes.
Pushing people to almost celebrity status, not because of their GOOD deeds to mankind, but because they have pushed even further, crossed yet another line, because the one before wasn’t shocking enough.
Tragedy has been transformed into entertainment.

So this is the reality of the big picture now…
This is the consequence of all those screaming mouths crying “it’s my right…you can’t take MY rights away….”
Children are slaughtered, senselessly, needlessly.
What a waste of life.
What beautiful amazing, worthwhile things could they have gone on and contributed to society?
I’m so sad and so angry.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Life, news, society and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The world we have made.

  1. Adam S says:

    I agree with you about the media glorifying tragedies. I think it’s wrong. I don’t think any of it really even needs to be on the news to be honest. Why does it have to be in our faces all the time? This kind of stuff is put out there because it makes money. I think that’s as sickening, if not MORE sickening than the crime itself.

    Here’s a thought: Should the media be held Socially Responsible for returning a portion of their profits? Should they contribute that portion to the families of any victims that they cash in on? I think it would change what we see on the news. It’ll never happen, but it should.

    Here’s where I disagree with you: outlawing guns won’t solve the problem. Ever. Wackos will still exist, even when guns don’t. And wacko’s will always find a way to get what they want.

    Marijuana, Cocaine, and Heroine are illegal — people still get it. It’s epidemic in some places. Prostitution still exists too. Go on down the line…

    The problem is much more complex. I think we really need to start focusing on improving ourselves. Change our bad habits. Good stuff is infectious too. People need to start recognizing and weeding out the destructive thoughts, patterns, and behaviors from their own lives.

    “In order to change the world, it starts with you.”

    What are your thoughts?

    For the record, I don’t own a gun.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Would you rather come face to face with a wacko holding a semi automatic, or a wacko with a knife?
      It IS true, guns will never disappear. Those that want them will still find a way, on the black market, whatever…no doubt about that.
      BUT, you only have to look at the statistics on countries that have much tougher gun laws compared to the US.

      The media is to blame for the sensationalism yep.
      That “line” though keeps being redrawn. Moved…
      Is it the media or is it our (societies) thirst for MORE.
      More violent movies…more violent computer games…more explicit sex….more more more. We keep buying it….
      We are driven to demand more stimulation in this escalating cycle of ….receiving so MUCH stimulation.

      I totally agree with you Adam. It DOES start with us – and yes, oh YES, wouldn’t it be nice if we could all be as moved and as passionate (as stimulated) by all the GOOD things there are to be experienced and shared. Some of us are.
      Most of us are just numb though, it seems.

      • Adam S says:

        To answer your question, I don’t want to come face to face with a Wacko in either situation. But, if I was confronted by someone with a gun, it’s nice to know that I have the right to point one back. It’s the only thing that would give me a chance to defend myself in that situation. If I lived in Detroit, I’d have one for sure. But, I don’t feel threatened where I live.

        There are some disturbed people among us. That’s just the world we live in. World peace is a beautiful thought, but it’ll just never happen collectively.

  2. desertrose7 says:

    It’s the world we,collectively have made Adam. This is what I’m trying to say.
    So if you have a gun to defend yourself, but your attacker has a bigger better gun, do you then go out and buy a bigger better gun….? He see’s it and thinks “shit” and so goes out and gets an even bigger better gun.
    It’s like war. Which country now has the biggest,best most efficient means of blasting this entire planet out of the universe?
    Where does it end?

  3. Gerry Cooper says:

    Tracy like you I do not live in America or own a gun, I am lucky enough to live where there is no need to own one. Having said that if some of the documentaries I have seen about life in some areas of the USA are only half true if I lived there I would most probably buy one. I think they have about 10,000 murders a year committed with firearms and a total of 30,000 deaths related to the same.

    That number of deaths would be enough to get them banned in most civilised countries. For some reason they don´t and, apart from commercial considerations; I have the terrible feeling that in some areas you would be naked and defenseless without one.

    I agree with you 100% but I honestly believe you have to live there to understand it. If blowing away 30,000 a year with firearms plus massacres in schools is not a good enough reason to ban them then we must be missing out on something. Could it be something that they do not want to admit? As in that there are so many drug crazed, mentally ill and just plain bad people about that they would feel completely naked without a gun to defend themselves?.In either case they have my sympathy.

    As Elton sang

    It’s sad, its so sad
    It’s a sad, sad situation
    And it’s getting more and more absurd

    • desertrose7 says:

      It is true Gerry, there is probably a bit of naivety in my statements. I DON’T know what it’s like to live in those places.
      I am naive too in my wishes for peace…for people to just accept each others differences, race, religion,culture,sexuality,colour etc…
      I sometimes feel like a child with these thoughts 🙂 BUT, I believe in them.
      I don’t know if it’s possible to attain these things, but the alternative is……?
      There is so much MORE to it all than just guns alone…but something in that area HAS to be done.
      I have a feeling that this terrible incident will be a catalyst for some sort of change.
      It’s my hope at least.
      I think we need not worry that climate change is going to destroy our planet.
      We- people, are destroying each other.
      Something HAS to be done about that.

  4. Miriam E. says:

    i am not a religious person, but in this case, there’s nothing better to say than: Amen. and i mean that. your words ring true and point out the twisted mess we call ‘society’. well done.

  5. bagley777 says:

    Hello, I live in the US and just had to share some of my thoughts. First of all, after reading through the comments, I certainly don’t think living in the US is as bad as you might think! I certainly don’t feel threatened living here. Though, it is true that there are many more gun murders here than anywhere else. As for wondering why we’re so adamant about our gun rights, it’s because our country holds our constitution very dearly. Yes, I agree, it was made for a different time in a different world, but there are some people out there who are very hard headed and/or sensitive about these things.

    Personally, I think we could use gun control laws. Not laws that “take guns out of innocent hands and put them into criminal hands” (as most people who are against gun control laws say) but laws that make it a bit harder for guns to get into the wrong hands, such as being required to keep your guns in a secure place. My father (who also agrees that laws should be a bit stricter) goes shooting as a sport, so I have a lot of guns in my house. So I am by no means saying take away guns totally – just that some laws couldn’t hurt.

    I agree with most of your points in this article. Violence and sex are everywhere, especially with the internet. We are turning more and more selfish. Nobody needs a fully automatic gun. The media (and our society) seem to love horrible things. However, the one thing I have to disagree with you on is that our morals and values are declining. It definitely feels that way, but looking at the facts it’s just not true. There have been less murders overall recently than in the previous years. We were also quite cruel in our earliest years. But I suppose that depends on what time period you’re comparing it to.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Hi Hailey. Thank you for your thoughts. I saw on your blog you are the same age as my daughter. (I write about her a lot. 🙂 )
      First of all I commend you for thinking deeply on this subject, that’s exactly what we need, more people really giving this situation some serious consideration!
      I agree totally that more gun control laws are needed. For sure!
      The argument that “the criminals will always get hold of guns no matter what” are sadly very true, but that doesn’t mean people should give up trying hey?
      We should try everything in our power to try to curb these horrendous incidences because even if it only saves ONE life….ONE child, then it is worth it!

      I don’t know exactly what the answer is because it’s so complicated. 😦
      It’s my wish though, that we find a way to make our world(s) a better place where innocent people stay safe.

      • bagley777 says:

        Yes, I very much agree! People seem to think we should just give up trying if something doesn’t work, but when lives are at stake that’s just not an option. There would need to be carefully placed laws for gun control to work properly, but that doesn’t mean those laws don’t (or couldn’t) exist. Just put laws in the right places, and hopefully we’d see at least a few less deaths. It’s hard to say where exactly the change should be made – but that’s where we all come together and decide. Some people are more knowledge about guns than others, whereas some are more informed about laws than others. We need them all to make it work.

        And I haven’t read much of your blog yet, but I look forward to reading about your daughter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

