A wonderful life!

A wonderful life doll
Yesterday my daughter convinced me to bring all the Christmas decorations upstairs and set everything up.
I’ve been a bit slow this year, kind of dragging my feet on the whole Christmas thing, partly because I’ve been so busy and also because I’m focused on a trip we’re taking the teenagers on in January – to the Philippines, so Christmas has been taking a bit of a back seat this year.

When I finally did bring all the Christmas boxes up I found this doll – the picture above, and it flooded me with the memory of the lady who made it, who inspired me by just a few words that she said to me, to write something at the time describing the “moment”.

A few years ago we were selling our candles at a craft market when I stopped to admire some beautifully hand crafted fabric dolls made by another stall holder.
Not “cute” or baby dolls, but whimsical, each with its own unique fanciful character.
The maker of the dolls was a short, overweight woman in her late fifties, early sixties,I’d guess, with long untidy grey hair.
“They’re amazing!” I said to her as I studied all the hand stitching and intricately formed faces of each doll.
“Thank you!” said the woman smiling at me from behind the booth.
“Do you make them all yourself?”
“Yes….and I also teach workshops on how to create them.”
“I travel to America and hold workshops there too.” She added, coyly.
“Wow, that’s great!” I said.
“Yes, I’m having a wonderful life.” Said the woman ,beaming.

It was this that almost stopped me dead in my tracks.

“I’m having a wonderful life.”

It wasn’t just that she said it, because to be honest I’ve never heard anyone actually say that before, but it was the WAY she said it, like with every fibre of her being it was the absolute ultimate TRUTH.

I bought a Christmas doll from her which is taken out every year, but really I should have purchased one to display all year round just to remind me of her because really, if I’m honest with myself I’d have to say….I want what SHE’S having!

I don’t have it.
I can’t say it….and feel it…. “I’m having a wonderful life!”
What a strange concept, to me.
Me, who is always seeking and searching and yearning and lamenting…..and probably moaning and complaining more than I should.
And it’s not that I’m particularly UNhappy with my life. God no. I love my husband and my four children and I am grateful to have such a wonderful extended family too, all of whom I appreciate and adore.
If I really think about it I’m lucky in so many ways to have what I have…….but…..
Of course there’s a but.

I just don’t have what she has. I know it.
A light radiating from within that reflects a contentedness, a life lived authentically with peace and joy and a smile positively screams “I am HAPPY!”
Happy with what I’ve got, and what I do and what I haven’t got and don’t do, and everything inbetween.

When my eldest (23 at the time) said “I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.” I told her
“I know. I don’t either.”

But one day, I would like to be “her”….would like to shine that light out to somebody, so they feel it and KNOW it, when I say…

“I am having a wonderful life”.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Christmas, crafts, Creativity, happiness, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A wonderful life!

  1. annewoodman says:

    I think people like her draw other people to them because their contentedness shines through in everything they do and create. I love it! The doll sounds like a lovely reminder.

    • desertrose7 says:

      That’s so true. They do.
      I haven’t seen her anywhere at markets this year….She’s probably off somewhere living that wonderful life of hers to the fullest.
      Good on her!

  2. Pingback: A Glimpse into ‘A Wonderful Life’ « Another Wandering Soul

  3. Miriam E. says:

    i absolutely LOVED this post. it moved me so much, I am beyond words.
    thank you for that.
    i hope you don’t mind that i added the link to your blog to my page…
    http://anotherwanderingsoul.wordpress.com/2012/12/04/a-glimpse-into-a-wonderful-life/
    thank you for your wonderful words!

    • desertrose7 says:

      Not at all 🙂 I am chuffed you liked it so much.
      The whimsical doll maker is to be thanked. She is truly the one responsible.
      I love how sometimes people say or do things and don’t realise the impact they will have on others.

  4. JasmineKyleSings says:

    I feel like you do. So many wonderful things that I have always NEEDED. It’s hard to say I am happy but not HAPPY! I just want my career to take off and to make something of my self. I can’t escape the feeling that I am mooching off my husband. He loves supporting me and I appreciate it but I wish I could contribute to you know. My husband told me yesterday that I needed to enjoy the journey and I REALLY AM TRYING. This post helped reinforce that message that I keep seeing over and over and have yet to learn.

    • desertrose7 says:

      Hi Jasmine. I’m a bit that way myself…forgetting to enjoy the journey. I probably think too much and it gets in the way of just “being”. I read a book a while ago that helped me tremendously as far as enjoying the journey and it’s called “Succulent wild woman” by SARK. Strange title but I tell you what I walked around for weeks on a high feeling very succulent and looking for succulent moments. 🙂 I should read it again.

  5. nrhatch says:

    This post reminds me of a cartoon:

    When I was 5 years old, my mom taught me that happiness was the key to life.
    In school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.
    I said, “Happy.”
    They said I didn’t understand the assignment.
    I told them they didn’t understand life.

  6. Dan says:

    I’m having a wonderful “moment” reading your blog “a wonderful life”.
    Hopefully that’s a good start, right?

    I’m also reminded of the movie “It’s a Wonderful Life”, that’s played on TV often during the Christmas season here in the States.
    I wonder if she was your guardian angel come to have a chat with you.
    It’s nice to know that real people can have such an effect on us, isn’t it?

    This time of the year I look forward to watching the 1951 version of “A Christmas Carol”, the one with Alastair Sim.
    It’s so nice to cry happy tears at the end of that movie.
    Also enjoy watching “Bridget Jones’ Diary this time of year. I’m such a sentimental slob.

    Anyways, enough about what we’re feeling.
    More importantly, how is your baby sister doing?
    “God bless us every one!” 🙂

    • desertrose7 says:

      She’s doing really well thanks Dan. Got the biopsy results for the lymph nodes they removed and they were cancer free! 🙂
      I cry in moves all the time. Sometimes I even cry over ads.
      I can’t watch a group of kids singing in a school choir without wearing sunglasses because my eyes well up. It’s ridiculous.

      • Dan says:

        Yippy. 😀
        That’s such great news.

        Can’t think of any ads that make me cry, lately. But there are a few that make me laugh big time.
        Well then, may I recommend that you keep on being ridiculous.
        Peace. 🙂

  7. I’m having a wonderful life!
    Wow!
    Amazing concept.
    That really caught my attention, and I love it.
    Thanks for sharing!

  8. I found your site through Miriam E. Glad that I did a fellow Australian with a love for honesty & down to earth humour. 🙂 I would not have known of your existence if it wasn’t for Miri…sad but true. 🙂

  9. salvlucia says:

    I have never seen a doll like that… unique! It is evident it was made by special hands… I am sure you will be like “her” one day and I hope for me the same! You are on the right track 🙂

Leave a Reply

