Ok, not funny anymore!

My heart was just pounding! I was so close to going next door to one of the neighbours to ask them to come upstairs with me because I’m so freaked out it’s not funny.

I mentioned in a post “Things that go poke in the night” that there’s been some weird stuff going on in this new house we’re in. Strange things like unfamiliar balls being left on the kitchen mat, lamps turning themselves on, something that POKED my arm when I was asleep…etc.

Last night my daughter took a shower in my bathroom and she said “The whole time I was in there, the light was flickering, and it felt like someone was watching me.” Creepy.

There is the main upstairs house all on one level, but underneath there is another level – used to be my friends hairdressing salon. Now it’s where we make candles.
You have to go outside to walk upstairs to the main level.
I can’t actually see those front steps leading up to the front door from down here.
I spend a lot of time in this downstairs section because its where my music room/craft room and candle making room are.

There have been quite a few times I’ve heard noises from upstairs when nobody else is home.
I’ve put it down to the floorboards contracting and expanding . Sounds nice and logical. I can live with that.
Sometimes it really sounds like my husband is in his office, right above the candle making room. Just noises like someone is moving around IN there.
This morning as I sat making christmas decorations at my work bench I heard those same noises.
You know, you just try to ignore it.
What was that? Your mind asks, but you just get on with it…It was floorboards creaking. The ceiling expanding…
Yesterday something made a huge THUD…and my mind said. “That sounded like a bird flying into a window.”
Yeah, ok. Sounds good. Well, not for the bird.

But today something large and wooden crashed onto the floor upstairs and made me jump up out of my seat.
In fact it was as loud as one of our wooden bar stools being toppled over onto the wooden floor.
There was absolutely NO ignoring that.
My first thought was the cat… Nope, the cat is outside sunning himself on the front steps.
Then I thought…well, perhaps our blind dog has got in through the laundry door, which I left open. She’s somehow managed to get the screen door open, wandered in, blind as a bat, and has knocked a piece of furniture over.

I peeked up the side passage next to the house, and could see our blind dog right there. She wasn’t in the house and in fact our other dog was somewhere in the backyard barking.
HE heard the noise too!

So I just stood there, not knowing what to do.
I was frightened thinking what if someone has snuck up the front stairs and gone into the house, because the front door WAS unlocked. (I know, I know, I SHOULD lock it while I’m working down here.)
So the thought of an intruder was now very much on my mind.
What to do?
Surely a burglar would be careful to not make noise?

I stood there for about five minutes weighing up my options.
Should I take a knife up there with me? No, they would wrestle it off me and stab ME with it.
I was working with spray paint. Should I take a can of spray paint and zap them in the eyes with it?
What should I do?

It was tempting to go and ask one of my neighbours just to stand watch at the front door while I ventured inside to check things out.
But how stupid would that sound? I don’t know them well.

Ok…so deep breath….I’m going in, damn it! If today is my day to die then so be it!

I slipped my shoes off, flung the front door open wide, and started going through the rooms, one by one. My heart in my mouth.

Nothing!
Not a thing.
Nothing out of place.
No furniture tipped over.
Nothing heavy fallen to the floor.
No dogs, no cats, no intruders (I even checked the closets.)

But SOMETHING is up there, I swear.
Even as I have been typing this I am STILL hearing noises. Not large furniture crashes, but obvious noises none the less.

Just then…another one…like someone walking across the loungeroom floor.

This place HAS to have a resident ghost!

An update…I can’t believe this!
I swear this is the God’s honest truth!
I just went back upstairs to get a drink and THIS is on the rug in the kitchen. I immediately saw it, not hard to miss.
It was NOT there when I went in before because I walked past that same rug twice!

What is it with this rug?

The time before I had a friend over. We had come home from shopping, put our bags on the kitchen counter and then went out the front so she could have a cigarette on the front porch. We sat talking for about half an hour, an hour maybe?  Went back inside and THIS was sitting on the rug.

Not one of our balls because I never EVER buy balls smaller than a tennis ball in case the dogs choke on them. This was NOT one of our balls. It simply appeared on the mat seemingly out of nowhere.

It feels like something is playing silly buggers with me.  Messing about. Nothing sinister, but having a joke on me.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Life, Paranormal, Supernatural and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ok, not funny anymore!

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    Do you pray? Spirits are attracted to me, but I have been able to clear the spirits with one specific prayer before. If you’re interested, I would be happy to send it to you.

    • desertrose7 says:

      I just updated my post Rebecca. It’s just so weird I can’t even feel frightened anymore.
      Thanks for the offer of the prayer, but you know what….I think I’m going to have to see the woman up the road who apparently deals with this sort of thing.
      She is s good friend of MY friend (who’s house we’re in) and she has said before to my friend that there is a playful child spirit in this house who was attached to my friends daughter.
      I don’t know….I just don’t know.
      I don’t even know if i believe this stuff, lol!
      I just can’t work out what is going on!

      • rebecca2000 says:

        Yeah, I used to not believe anymore. The problem is that I do the opposite of most. My gifts get stronger with age. Sometimes it is just hard to ignore.

      • desertrose7 says:

        Yes it is hard to ignore. I just feel like a flake whenever stuff like this happens. I’m even doubting myself now. Maybe that pan WAS on the rug when I went in…and walked past it twice? Maybe I was just too hyped up ready to throw some kung fu moves, and just didn’t see it? I think having kids makes us women more intuitive…perhaps it also makes us more sensitive to weird unexplainable things?

  2. Mrs D says:

    Wow that would freak me out too!!! I used to know a girl who had a spirit that used to play their piano – freaky but oddly cool. I hope you find some answers 🙂

    • desertrose7 says:

      Play tunes? Or play notes?
      My piano used to play notes. I rationalised that maybe piano strings stretch or contract or something and can make a sound? I don’t know though if that’s even possible.
      Ah well, some things are just meant to be mysteries I think.

  3. Dan says:

    Well, YES, you should be locking the doors shouldn’t you?
    After all, it is your friends house that you are renting and you wouldn’t want anything to get damaged would you?
    You do have a laptop yes? You could purchase one of these
    http://www.logitech.com/en-us/webcam-communications/webcams/hd-webcam-c525
    and setup the software for motion detection and see what develops.

    We have had dogs too and it’s amazing what you think, “they couldn’t do that”, if it were not caught on tape as video evidence that “yes, they can do that.” 😆

    And if it is as you say, “… nothing sinister …”, why not just play along.
    In fact, why not leave some cookies and milk out with a note.
    You make up what you think should be on the note.
    It’s all a mystery anyways, right?
    Good luck. 🙂

  4. Miriam E. says:

    call me crazy, but i believe every home has a spirit living there.
    when mine gets upset, things fall down, break, there are noises in the middle of the night.
    i started putting out little bowls of sugar around the house – an offering to the spirits. and ever since i did that, everything’s quiet.
    try it, it might help!

    • desertrose7 says:

      If I put bowls of sugar around the house NOW, we’d have more than spirits to contend with – like hoards of ants! But it’s an interesting notion. I’ve heard of sprinkling salt around the perimeter of the house?

      • Miriam E. says:

        worth a try…
        also it might help to burn sage and cleanse the house with the smoke. open all windows and doors, then start at the front door. move along the walls of the entire house until you get back to the front door. make sure to linger a little in front of windows and doorways.

Leave a Reply

