I have worms!

An earworm, according to Wikipedia is “A piece of music that sticks in one’s mind so that one seems to hear it, even when it is not being played. Other phrases used to describe this include musical imagery repetition and involuntary musical imagery. The phenomenon is common in normal life and so may be distinguished from brain damage which results in palinacousis.”

Well guess what, I’ve either got lesions of the temporal lobe, or an earworm!

This is not right, because I, being the songwriter, am supposed to give other people worms. Not be a sufferer myself?
And it’s the dumbest song EVER….ever… ever!

Do you know it? “We are never ever getting back together” by Taylor Swift.
(If you don’t know it, don’t research and don’t listen to it EVER! I’m warning you!)

See, when I’m making candles I have the radio on a station that plays Eighties in the morning and “The best of Newcastle’s current music” in the afternoon.
I only listen because I’m an Eighties girl. Can’t stand the afternoon rubbish, and that’s where I caught this bloody earworm.

The first time I heard the song in question I began muttering to myself. “Rubbish! Bloody hell….so childish…THAT’S a lyric? THAT is what is making money these days!”
I was suitably disgusted, being such a rich and famous SUCCESSFUL, songwriter myself.

For two nights in a row now I’ve had the most terrible nights sleep…NOT because of a snoring husband, or washing machine head, but because of THIS song that keeps playing in my ears and actually waking me up as it plays all night long, in my ears.
“We’re never , ever , ever…getting’ back together!”
Arrgggghhh!
It’s even worse than “Achy breaky heart” and I never thought there would be an earworm to top THAT one. (That never plagued me with nightmares though.) Or “Don’t worry….be happy!” THAT was annoying, but at least in a cheerful/positive message way.

I am doomed, because there is no known cure for earworms.
No vaccine, no antibiotic powerful enough to kill it, and worst of all no painkillers will touch it.
You’ve just got to let it run it’s course, like the virus that it is.
OR replace it with something else.
Kind of like managing addictions. Replace the addiction with another habit that is not harmful, kind of thing.
The thing is, this is happening mostly when I’m sleeping, so… I have no control!

Last night as I kept being woken up by the worm, I was forced to keep switching the television back on to listen to my calming serial killer shows.
“The blood and brain matter spattered on the wall behind the victim were evidence that this was not a suicide….”
“Never , ever, ever….getting back together….”
Oh LORD! It’s enough to drive you to suicide!

Can you sue an artist for giving you earworms?
Sue the radio station for playing it for emotional suffering? Psychological damage?
It’s almost like post traumatic SONG disorder.
Flashbacks combined with a feeling of anxiety and emotional anguish…

I’m not even going to dare to watch the video on youtube. That would send me right over the edge I’m sure. Then I’d have a VISUAL as well as an auditory trauma to deal with.

I have been accused of giving people earworms.
I do apologise for this. It is never my intention.
Probably my most earworm inducing song is one called “My curry puff.”
Really, it was just boredom and my love of Indian food that made me write this.
I never thought pouring through recipe books would inspire a song, but it did.
I’d like to infect you with it share it with you, if I may.

All in the spirit of “sharing” (worms) today.

Here is the lyric.

I make Vindaloo
Nice and hot for you
Prepare my coconuts
Co’s you love them lots
I serve Tandoori
In a hurry
There’s something else you want
But don’t you worry

I’m saving the best for last
Co’s I know what you’re gonna ask

(ch)
You want my
Curry Puff
You just can’t get enough
Oh oh oh
Oh oh oh

My chicken Korma
It gets you warmer
And my Chapati
Makes you happy
Oh and my pappadums
they get you going
But what you really want
baby is cumin

I’m saving the best for last
Co’s I know what you’re gonna ask

(ch)
You want my
Curry Puff
You just can’t get enough
Oh oh oh
Oh oh oh

And the video to the song here…..

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/675510″>Curry puff</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user366567″>Tracy Lundgren</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Australia, Humour, Music, songwriting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I have worms!

  1. Haha, next time I should sing this in response to my sister’s incessant singing of your earworm. It’s been a deathly combination of her boyfriend and her that drove me insane.

  2. desertrose7 says:

    Oh you poor thing! To have it playing round and round in your head is bad enough but are you saying you have TWO people? singing it to you?
    I would be threatening them with death.

  3. Dan says:

    “I have worms!”

    Have you tried a brain enema?
    Just exaggerating – NOT.

    Oh you mean earworms. Why didn’t you say so. 😉

    i thought everybody had earworms.
    Personally speaking mine appear to be more pleasant than your addiction.

    One of my first recollections of an earworm was Percy Faith’s “Theme From A Summer Place”.
    Way way before your time, this time.
    With many in between, but the last musical memory of one is Alison Krauss and Union Station’s “Maybe”.
    You being a singer of sorts and who plays with harmonies a lot, I’ll bet that you can relate.
    Just went over to the Youtube post of it at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQwLJQxkphk
    Yikes, I hope I’ll be able to sleep tonight. Thanks so much. <-<

    And as for your music madam,
    we're not going to get infected by your coconuts and pappadums.
    Nooooooooooo!!!
    I'm just glad you didn't prepare your Tindaloo. 😛

    Maybe you should prepare those Curry Puffs for yourself and have a good dump. 😉

    • SoundEagle says:

      Hi Dan, I love Percy Faith’s orchestra as well as “Theme From A Summer Place”. Mantovani’s version of the music is just as pleasing. Besides, I had played the piece many times on organs, pianos and keyboards.

      I am listening to Alison Krauss & Union Station’s live performance of “Maybe” and see if it would turn into an earworm for me . . . . . Maybe it would; but Maybe not.

      • Dan says:

        “….. Maybe it would; but Maybe not.”
        To each his/her own. Maybe my ears are just shot.
        Then again, maybe the harmonies in that Chorus put my emotions on the edge of not knowing whether I am going to receive pleasure or pain from listening. Talk about being on the brink. 😯

      • SoundEagle says:

        I’m comenting here again just in case the first one did not get through, as I seem to have experienced a similar problem to Dan’s.

        Hi Dan!
        I wonder whether any of my own music could become earworms to you. Click Music (in post format) or Music (in page format) to listen to some original music on SoundEagle‘s website to test it out.

        It’s just a click or an earshot away . . . . .

      • desertrose7 says:

        I don’t know what is going on with wordpress at the moment. Very annoying!

      • SoundEagle says:

        Hi Dan!
        I wonder whether any of my own music could become earworms to you. Click Music (in post format) or Music (in page format) to listen to some original music on SoundEagle‘s website to test it out.

        It’s just a click or an earshot away . . . . .

    • desertrose7 says:

      I missed this, sorry Dan. My email notifications are all in a shambles.
      I remember when I took piano lessons for a very short time in my early teens. A Summer Place was a song I learned to tinkle on the keys, and then the lessons got boring, lol!

      • Dan says:

        not to worry. 😉
        Tried to reply to a later post on several occasions and your site wasn’t accepting my replies.
        It was probably just a problem with wordpress.
        Anyway, you and your family have a safe, yet exciting trip to Manila. 🙂
        Peace.

      • desertrose7 says:

        Really? Hmm, well I’m not too happy with wordpress at the moment. I might just have to blog about it!
        Thank you. Passports are approved so I guess I can stop worrying about that now. 🙂

  4. SoundEagle says:

    Dare I take the chance of listening and watching “Curry Puff”?!

    I do love to eat it though, whether or not it could ever become a mouthworm to me. . . . .

Leave a Reply

