Mooned.

We were camped in a clearing just off the dirt road. It was just for one night but I was feeling particularly irritable that evening.
Instead of joining the rest of the group (we were traveling with a 4 wheel drive club on a two week trip around the outback) I decided to have an early night while the others settled around the campfire for drinks and giggles.

Actually, it was more like I was having a bit of a sulk because earlier in the day we’d had the option of camping near a town at a spot with amenities, but the trip leader had made the decision to press on.

This was my first experience “roughing it” and I still wasn’t comfortable with the idea of peeing or worse, dealing with morning constitutions in the bushes.
Very undignified.

My husband had taken the kids down to the fire with him so I was alone in the tent, huffing to myself, tossing and turning aware of the distant sound of laughter echoing through the still night.

I was doing a magnificent job of sulking. It’s a shame there was no audience.

After a while that familiar feeling began to alert me to the fact that I would not be able to fall asleep until I’d made one more call of nature trip outside.
Unzipping the canvas I congratulated myself at having the forethought when we set up to face the opening of our tent towards the intended campfire site.
This way I knew I could sneak around not too far behind our tent to take care of night time business without being able to be observed by anyone.

Dropping my pants I squatted down cautiously. It was a very bright night and felt kind of funny being so visible under the light of a very large full moon.
Still, no matter…no one could see me. They were all safely down there toasting marshmallows.

How wrong could I be.

No sooner had I taken the position when there came a loud whooping and a whistling from not too far behind me that almost caused me to fall flat on my face tangled in my britches.

I must have turned beet red under the light of that very full moon because I had no idea that another set of campers – mainly blokes by the sound of it, and not in any way affiliated with us, had set up camp directly behind us hidden from view by some scrub.
What could I do….except finish and scramble frantically to wrangle my pants back up before beating a mortified and very hasty retreat back into the safety of the tent.

With burning cheeks I lay there and listened for several minutes while the cat calls and whistles and whoops continued along with delighted yells of …
“WE SAW YOU! WE SAW YOUR BUM! OH YES WE DID….WE SAW YOUR BUM!”

It was a most unfortunate situation and one I still find myself blushing over when I think of it.
I was NOT a happy camper.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in camping, Humour, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

