A wonderful life.

Just over a year ago I was at a craft market when I stopped to admire some beautifully hand crafted fabric dolls.
Not “cute” or baby dolls, but whimsical, each with its own unique fanciful character.
The maker of the dolls was a short, overweight woman in her late fifties, early sixties (I’d guess?) with long untidy grey hair.
“They’re amazing!” I said to her as I studied all the hand stitching and intricately formed faces of each doll.
“Thank you!” said the woman smiling at me from behind the booth.
“Do you make them all yourself?”
“Yes….and I also teach workshops on how to create them.”
“I travel to America and hold workshops there too.” She added, almost coyly.
“Wow, that’s great!” I said.
“Yes, I’m having a wonderful life.” Said the woman ,beaming.
It was this that almost stopped me dead in my tracks.
“I’m having a wonderful life.”
It wasn’t just that she said it, because to be honest I’ve never heard anyone actually say that before, but it was the WAY she said it, like with every fiber of her being it was the absolute ultimate TRUTH.
I bought a Christmas doll from her which is taken out every year, but really I should have bought one to display all year round just to remind me of her because really, if I’m honest with myself I’d have to say….I want what SHE’S having!
I don’t have it…yet.
I can’t say it….and feel it…. “I’m having a wonderful life!”
What a strange concept, to me.
Me, who is always seeking and searching and yearning and lamenting…..and probably moaning and complaining more than I should.
And it’s not that I’m particularly UNhappy with my life. God no. I love my husband and my four children and I am grateful to have such a wonderful extended family too, all of whom I appreciate and adore.
If I really think about it I’m lucky in so many ways to have what I have…….but…..
Of course there’s a but.
I just don’t have what she has. I know it.
A light radiating from within that reflects a contentedness, a life lived authentically with peace and joy and a smile positively screams “I am HAPPY!”
Happy with what I’ve got, and what I do and what I haven’t got and don’t do, and everything inbetween.
The other day when my eldest (23) said “I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.” I told her
“I know. I don’t either.”
I do know one thing though. I’m on a quest….a journey, a mission!
One day, I WILL be like “her”….and I WILL shine that light out to somebody, so they feel it and KNOW it, when I say…

“I am having a wonderful life”.

About Tracy Lundgren

I am a people watcher,life observer, nature lover, spiritual seeker loving this crazy wild ride that life is taking me on. I am still a blank piece of paper waiting to be filled and that is good.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A wonderful life.

  1. Remember that you can find happiness. You have to create it for yourself.

  2. desertrose7 says:

    Very true. I’ll get to that once I’ve finished sorting out the chaos. 🙂
    Love your writing by the way…extremely funny!

Leave a Reply

