Crafting frenzy!

Standard

THIS is what is keeping me from blogging!
You see I feel this terrible GUILT that I just do not have the time at the moment to be catching up with everyone else’s blogs and if I myself write a blog then you lovely other bloggers who I am neglecting might comment and then I feel so bad that I am not reading YOURS.
I’m sure you all know the feeling.

BUT…..I have to blow the dust off my own blog and at least attempt to write the occasional thing or two or else it will just wither away to nothing.

So as the title says, I have been in a crafting frenzy.

My daughter, Shai, and I have created a little business. Well, we’re not out there selling YET but we will SOON BE!

We’ve called ourself “Twisted Gypsy designs”. And a bit of a plug….here’s our facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/twistedgypsydesignsau?fref=ts

She’s the twisted one and I’m the gypsy.
:) No….we’re both as twisted as each other and I happen to love everything GYPSY like. So does she.
When I say “gypsy”…..I mean anything alternative, hippie, ethnic, old worldish, magical and basically DIFFERENT.

I love this saying….

“Blessed are the gypsies ,the makers of music, the artists, writers, dreamers of dreams,
wanderers and vagabonds, children and misfits : for they teach us to see the
world through beautiful eyes.”

….and I shall put it on a handmade card or SOMETHING, soon.

And speaking of cards….this is what I have been making lately. Or attempting to.
I’m still very daunted by cardmaking. Seems simple but it’s NOT.
You have to have knowledge of design elements. Know how to pick the right fonts, the right colours, the right backgrounds, the right focal points, the right GLUE!
Oh don’t even talk to me about adhesives….I got myself into a right sticky mess there before trying to work out the right way to attach things.
And then I jumped straight in the deep end and started dabbling with alcohol inks.
Oh my ….what a whole nother FUMY world that is!
You know….you can get high making birthday cards?
Who needs drugs. Just sniff my cards.

Anyway, I’m cutting this short, because I could waffle on forever and I have to get back to finishing some more craft stuff.

So here are a couple of cards I made today with the alcohol ink backgrounds.
I’m not into “pretty pretty”. It’s just not me….so I think I will lean into a more grungy, maybe even steam punkish, vintage, old world look with them.
I could just be lying though. I am completely at the mercy of my creative muse, who happens to be very eclectic.

Canvas of imagination card small

Time flies card small

16 responses »

    • Thanks so much for the like :) and the kind comment re the bottles. I really enjoy making them. My craft room is positively overflowing with things we’ve made and things we’re still making.

    • Thanks Baz….I haven’t stopped by your blog in a while but I’ve seen some titles pop up in my email….and it always makes me so outback hungry even just the mere mention of anything to do with the outback. Especially now when you can smell all the woodfires burning. Makes me REALLY want to go camping.

  1. Hi Tracy :D As you know, blogging can be a full time job ! So don’t worry, concentrate on being a twisted gypsy………that doesn’t sound too friendly, but you know what I mean. Hugs. (Oh dear ! You’ve got glue all over me ! ;) ) Ralph xox <3

  2. Missed ya !!! Don’t forget to credit the author of the saying you used … Ivy Skye Jáquez.
    Balance … write a little, read a little, work on the crafts a little, work on the hubby’s nerves a little,
    but mostly just do what makes you the happiest.
    Love, hugs and imagination … ME and the Boss

    • Thank you :) I would have to put that credit on the back of a card I think. Only so much space on the front. Balance is the key. Lately I’ve been missing getting out into the great outdoors. Will have to remedy that situation!

Leave a Reply

