Been a slack blogger!

Standard

DSC_0077

Ok, so I’ve kind of fallen off the planet for a while.
Slackness…and being swallowed in the vortex of time, which just moves TOO darned quick!
My apologies for not at least keeping up with some of my favourite bloggers posts. :( Hope all is well in your worlds!

I had a moment the other day when I began lamenting at the dinner table that I STILL, at age 46 do not know what “my purpose” is here on earth.
Of course my daughter piped up and said “To have me!” which is true, all my children have been my “purpose” for a LONG time, but the youngest are not exactly kids anymore and the older two have now flown the coop…

I still don’t know exactly what I want to DO when I grow up, and I’m growing up FAST!

I get panicky about this…. about using my time here, wisely… and seem to just drift rather than actually feel as though I have a clear GOAL.
I suppose a lot of people do the same and it might not even bother them, but I always feel a bit stressed by the thought that I may not be making the most of this precious gift of life.

One thing we ARE doing, hubby and I, is making the most of our freedom now that the kids are older and it’s great!
In fact this Saturday we are off on our first CRUISE together!

I went last year on my first ever cruise with a friend but my husband pooh poohed the whole idea of cruising as a holiday.
Honestly never thought I’d get him to warm to the idea because so many of our travels have been on land, and very intensive full on trips.
However, I discovered just a few days ago that he’s had this cruise booked since February and was going to leave it till the day we are due to leave to surprise me.
His (unwise) plan was to announce it that morning and say “Quick, pack a bag….we’re going away!”
That would NOT have gone down well.

Perhaps MEN can do that….just chuck a few things in a bag and off they go but WOMEN need time to think and prepare. Mull over what coordinating outfits to take, which shoes, which jewelry…
Things need to be washed and ironed. Tried on, taken off, put back in the wardrobe, then get taken out again and packed…then unpacked…then repacked.
I even need to go online and check what other people take, then consider what I’ve packed…then unpack it, then repack it.
Just to be SURE, you know.
And I’ve packed my husbands suitcase as WELL.
Control freak?

Can you believe that he wanted to take his COWBOY hat?
On a cruise?
I mean that is just not “proper attire” for an ocean holiday.
Fair enough in the outback but he’d stick out like a sore thumb in thongs (with holes in the bottom I might add!), board shorts and a cowboy hat! (Dag!)

I jokingly pulled out this long Indian outfit that was given to him when he worked over there. Like one of those long sleeved mens “dresses”. Like a Kaftan, sort of. You know what I mean? Basically a big tent of a thing!
I said to him sarcastically that maybe he should pack that since he plans on taking full advantage of all the cruise food!
To my horror though he was delighted that I’d found it, and put it on, then and there saying.
“I’ve been looking for that for ages! I really like it! I think I WILL take it actually!”
My daughter and I just looked at each other in shocked dismay.
Talk about a joke backfiring.

Can you imagine it? A bald middle aged man, with a rather ample belly in an indian Kaftan with a cowboy hat….and thongs?
(It has now discreetly disappeared again.)

This is why I have packed his suitcase.
Sensible wife?

This is going to be interesting…I can feel it in my bones.

We’re going to the Pacific Islands- Noumea, Mare and Isle of Pines, on the Carnival Spirit ship – (the “fun” ship) which boasts a giant water slide.
The “Green thunder”.
Take a look at it here.

My husband INSISTS that I have to go on it!
HE is planning on going on it!
I told him he’d better do that on the first day – before he begins his eating holiday.
I’m not going on THAT!
Do you think I will?
Ok, well, maybe…once. I’ll see.

14 responses »

  1. I’m really glad you are going on a cruise together, and I just smiled at the idea that he was going to surprise you with the trip because I have come across the different way the sex’s approach packing before. I’m certainly a “I’ll chuck a few things in a bag, I’m sure it will be fine” sort of guy, and I also own one of those odd Indian costumes which looks a bit like a pair of pyjamas on me, and is really comfortable in hot weather, although I’ve only worn it once, and that was at Christmas for some reason, so really I’ve no idea what it would be like in warm weather. Have a great trip, and nice to see another post from you

    • Hi Peter. I must find out what that outfit is called.
      I actually like them – on the right person. :) A bit alternative looking.
      There is definitely a difference in how men and women approach the packing situation. He never complains though when he finds he needs something …and I HAVE packed it, “just in case”.

    • Thanks Ralph. YOU should do a cruise. There are singles cruises you know? Although it’s been that long since I’ve caught up with your blog….you could by now be married with ten kids!

      • Hey Tracy you may not far from the truth concerning women. I say no more for now. Mum’s the word and she IS !! Shush, tell no one :) xox

  2. How lucky are you and yes you have been slack, but so have I, so I won’t chastise you any further ;-) I’m like hubby ..I can’t see what people ‘sea’ in cruises, friends have tried to convince me for years. I am sure you will have a blast…and don’t keep fretting about where your life is going for it’s off to the Isle of Pines and everywhere else (pretty spot btw) we all have those moments as we…grow older, but don’t waste too much time thinking about it..as you could be doing other things :-) have fun girl.

    • Oh he’s changed his tune Jen, he’s embracing every element of cruising. You should see how much research he’s done….and he never shuts up about it, lol! I think he’s even more excited than I am.(especially about the food) I hope he enjoys it as much as the anticipation of it. All just experiences anyway. :) Got visitors so hopefully will have a squiz and see what you’ve been up to when we get back!
      Take care!

  3. How wonderful to go on a cruise and that he wanted to surprise you. I find that romantic. You are lucky. For the packing though it is better to know a bit in advance I do agree, we do need a bit longer for that. Do enjoy it to the full, even if you don’t slide down there will be many wonderful things to do there I am sure. Have fun !

Leave a Reply

